Club, Official and Volunteer of Year short-lists

Saturday 1st October 2016

Coach the Year short-lists

The scottishathletics Annual Awards Dinner is coming up at the end of October and there is a great night in prospect at the Hilton Hotel in Glasgow.

It is an occasion which allows us to celebrate and acknowledge all that is best in our sport – from Athletes to Coaches to Clubs to Officials and volunteers.

We revealed the contenders in three categories for Coach of the Year Awards at the Coaching Conference at the Emirates Arena last weekend.

And now we are delighted to unveil the Clubs contesting awards in three more categories there as well as four stalwarts of our sport who are now short-listed for Volunteer of the Year and two contenders for Official of the Year, with the awards to be made on Saturday 29 Ocotober.

Buy tickets for Annual Awards Dinner – via ‘online entry’ function

At this stage, we’d like to say a big thank-you to all who took part in the consultation on the Annual Awards and helped us out by sending in thoughts on nominations. That support has helped us significantly in making up these short-lists.

Five clubs are short-listed for Impact Club of the Year and that’s quite simply because we felt all of those clubs merited due prominence and recognition in terms of their efforts to grow the sport in their communities. In that category, in particular, there was a good ‘reach’ across Scotland with clubs listed from each of the three Districts – East, North and West.

In the Volunteer of the Year category, we’re absolutely certain that Law and District, Garscube Harriers, North Uist and Kilmarnock Harriers all fully appreciate the efforts made by the short-listed contenders.

Congratulations to all the clubs and individuals on being short-listed for these Annual Awards – as a reflection on a lot of hard work put in over many months for the improvement of athletics in Scotland.

Awards Poster 2016

(Nominations listed in alphabetical order)

Impact Club of the Year:

Aberdeen AAC; Chirnside Chasers; Cumbernauld AAC; Shetland AAC; Springburn Harriers

Off-Track Club of the Year:

Cambuslang Harriers; Central AC; Inverclyde AC; Giffnock North AAC

Track and Field Club of the Year:

Central AC; Edinburgh AC; Victoria Park-City of Glasgow

Volunteer of the Year:

Bobby Hill (Law & District AAC); Duncan McKellar (Garscube Harriers); Sandra McLean (North Uist AC); Hugh Rankin (Kilmarnock Harriers)

Official of the Year:

Brian Brown; Alistair Aitchison 



*Tickets for the Annual Awards Dinner are £40 per person (again) and we’re making plans for a terrific night on Saturday 29 October at the Hilton Hotel in Glasgow.

We’ve that big list of Olympians and Paralympians to celebrate with and former GB sprinter, Derek Redmond, is our Guest of Honour – no doubt with a few stories to tell!

Derek Redmond is Guest of Honour for Annual Dinner


Tags: Annual Awards Dinner 2016, Club of the Year, Derek Redmond, Hilton Hotel, Official of the Year, Volunteer of the Year

Expand Social Feeds