Jayne’s leap: Hampden high jump to Scottish Marathon team gold

Wednesday 24th April 2024

Jayne Nisbet – high jump to marathon medal (Hampden photo by Bobby Gavin)

Scottish Marathon medallists (on the RR and CC Commission website Archive)

Commonwealth Games high jumper Jayne Nisbet is among our Scottish Marathon Championship medallists.

Jayne competed at Hampden at Glasgow 2014, making the final in the high jump with a best leap of 1.85m in qualifying.

Now 35, the Edinburgh AC athlete came up with a sub three-hour marathon run in London to help her club to team gold medals in the women’s race!

‘It was my third marathon and I’m delighted to improve my time once again,’ said Jayne, whose mum and dad Moira and Brian are such well-known Scottish Officials.

‘I ran 3:14 in my first one in Rome in 2017 and then brought that down to 3:07 last autumn in Kew Gardens.

‘Annoyingly I was actually quite ill last week so felt I held back a bit on Sunday and wasn’t sure how my body would react. But it went ok and it felt good to get inside three hours for the first time.

‘It’s really exciting to hear Edinburgh AC have won medals in the Scottish champs.’

Jayne’s story is even more inspirational give some well-publicised issues with an eating disorder during much of her high jump career. She now has a Personal Trainer business.

Gala Harriers athlete Darrell Hastie is our M40 Marathon gold medallist (photo by Bobby Gavin in February 2023)

Edinburgh AC took golds in the Senior Women’s team race with Metro Aberdeen to land silvers and Bellahouston Road Runners in bronze.

The EAC winning team featured: Doireann Hughes (2:54:14); Isabella Ellwood (2:55:06); Jayne Nisbet (2:56:35).

In the Men’s race there was a win for Corstorphine AAC with second place for Edinburgh AC and third to Metro Aberdeen.

The CAAC winning team featured: Tom Martyn (2:19:56); Julian Barrable (2:28:46); Andrew Rolland (2:29:20).

Masters champions as follows:

M40: Darrell Hastie (Gala Harriers) 2:24:41

W40: Shona McIntosh (HBT) 2:46:22

M50: Nicholas Gemmell (Garscube Harriers) 2:36:50

W50: Mairi Stanley (Garscube Harriers) 3:19.30

M60: Stephen Ingledew (Edinburgh AC) 2:58:36

W60: Joy Gudgin (Carnegie Harriers) 3:43.10

M70: Maclolm Hammond (PH Racing) 3:56:40

M80 Robin Scott (Kilbarchan AAC) 4:33:10



Tags: Corstorphine AAC, Edinburgh AC, Jayne Nisbet, London Marathon, Scottish Marathon Champs

Expand Social Feeds