All roads lead to Falkirk: Great day in prospect at Lindsays National XC

Thursday 22nd February 2024

Key info for Falkirk

Fired up for Falkirk? The Lindsays National XC is coming up this weekend and we know that for so many endurance athletes across our clubs this is ‘the big one’.

That is reflected in the entry numbers with a staggering 2277 athlete names on the start lists for Saturday’s eagerly-awaited action at Callendar Park.

Clubs the length and breadth of the country will be represented with Scottish championship medals up for grabs for individuals and for teams.

There are 10 races on the pogramme to reflect the age range – from our opener at 11am with the U13 Girls through to the Senior Men including Non Binary at 2.30pm. There are 910 names on the start-list for that one and the start-line stampede will be a moment to savour.

We’ve a digital programme – click/tap the image below – which you can use on the day to find all the key information.

We believe the Lindsays National XC to be one of the most inclusive national championship events in Scottish sport given that age range and the equal distance for male and female runners in all age groups.

Event sponsors Lindsays certainly back our #SALtogether ethos and this season we are celebrating the tenth year of the sponsorship.

Falkirk-bound: Remarkable 2277 names on the start-lists for Lindsays National XC

Saturday’s Race schedule (declarations close half an  hour before race start time)

U13 Girls: Race starts 11.00am. Four to count. 3.2km

U13 Boys: Race starts 11.16am. Four to count 3.2km

U15 Girls: Race starts 11.32am. Four to count 4.3km

U15 Boys: Race stars 11.53am. Four to count 4.3km

U17 Men: Race starts 12.15pm. Four to count 6.2km

U17 Women: Race starts 12.20pm. Three to count 6.2km

Senior Women: Race starts 12.55pm. Six to count 10km

U20 Men: Race starts 1.50pm. Four to count 6.8km

U20 Women: Race starts 1.55pm. Three to count 6.8km

Senior Men inc Non Binary: Race starts 2.30pm. Six to count  10km

The Senior races always command significant attention and last year the titles were won by Scout Adkin of Moorfoot Runners and Logan Rees of Fife AC.

Scout is expectes back this weekend and could face World Unis Cross silver medallist, Alice Goodall.

Grand Prix leader Kirsty Walker (Edinburgh AC) and her club-mate Nancy Scott (who was also in Oman) could be other key contenders as well as Morag Millar (Central AC) and Eve MacKinnon (Cambuslang). Hill runners tend to do well at Falkirk so look out for Lauren Dickson and Holly Page.

In the Senior Men’s, it is dangerous to talk about favourites but Jamie Crowe (Central AC) looks hard to beat if at his best. Jamie is chasing a third National XC win. Falkirk Vics will have high hopes for local hero Scott Stirling.

Podium contenders could include – Duncan Robinson, Ben Potrykus, Lachlan Oates, Andy Douglas, Sasha Chepelin, Eddie Narbett, Callum Phillip, Sean Chalmers and Lewis Hannigan.


Falkirk Victoria Harriers are our hosts once again and we say a big thank you to them for course construction and marshal support.

Each year, Alex Jackson draws together a team of helpers from various clubs to marshal around the course.

This year we forward our thanks to representatives from:

Bellahouston Harriers, Carnegie Harriers, Cambuslang Harries, Falkirk Victoria Harriers, Ferranti AC, Forfar Road Runners, Giffnock North AC, Harmeny AC, Inverclyde AC, Lasswade AC, Linlithgow AC, Lothian RC, Penicuik Harriers, Perth Road Runners, PH Racing Club, Springburn H, Sri Chinmoy AC, Wee County H and Local Volunteers


Lindsays Trophy Final positions are up for grabs in three divisions

Falkirk focus: Thoughts and reflections from Alex Jackson

Jamie and Kirsty lead XC Grand Prix ahead of final race

Tags: Alex Jackson, Callendar Park, Falkirk, Lindsays National XC

Expand Social Feeds