Scottish Cross Country GP is back – with £4000 prize-money

Wednesday 24th November 2021

Andy Butchart, Jamie Crowe and Lachlan Oates went 1-2-3 at Lanark and thus lead the first Cross Country GP table (photo by Bobby Gavin)

CCGP 2021-22 Rules

scottishathletics are pleased to announce the return of the Cross Country Grand Prix for 2021-22 season.

There’s £4000 of prize-money available for allocation to members across the series of six events

Established in 2008/09, the Cross Country Grand Prix will incorporate four of Scotland’s biggest and best cross country races, while also including two key fixtures in England.

The  competition is open to Senior athletes and we hope it will act as a catalyst to get our leading men and women to race against each other regularly while also competing with distinction at a UK level.

The events included (in calendar order) are:

*Lindsays Scottish 4k Cross Country Championships Lanark: 06/11

*Liverpool Cross Challenge (Incorporating European Cross Country Trials) Liverpool: 27/11

*Lindsays Scottish District Cross Country Championships at Stirling (East): Elgin (North): and Balloch (West): 04/12

*Scottish Inter District Championships Irvine: 15/01

*Lindsays Scottish National Cross Country Championships Falkirk: 26/02

*Inter Counties Cross Country Championships Loughborough: 12/03

That pot of prize money is available to current scottishathletics members as follows:

Overall Grand Prix winners (male and female): £750; 2nd: £400; 3rd: £250; 4th: £150; 5th: £100; 6th: £75; 7th £50; 8th £40; 9th £30; 10th £20

In the event of a tie on points for 1st place, the head-to-head record between athletes in the Scottish National XC Championships (Falkirk, 26/02) will determine the placing.


Laura Muir’s win in the Short Course XC at Lanark gave the Olympic medallist full points in the XC Grand Prix (photo by Bobby Gavin)

CCGP2021-22 R1

Lanark saw the first points for 2021-22 allocated via performances by Seniors in the Lindsays Short Course XC.

So the Men’s 1-2-3 after round one is Andy Butchart, Jamie Crowe and Lachlan Oates with the Women’s 1-2-3 at the moment led by Laura Muir followed by second-placed Morag Millar and with Eloise Walker in third.


Crowe and Simpson win 2019-20 Cross Country GP titles

For the 2019-20 season Annabel Simpson (Fife AC) won the women’s series from Kayleigh Jarrett (Shettleston Harriers) and Michelle Sandison (Springburn Harriers), while Jamie Crowe (Central AC) won the men’s series from Jonny Glen (Inverclyde AC) and Kristian Jones (Dundee Hawkhill Harriers).


Tags: Cross Country GP

Expand Social Feeds