West District 10k champs

Sunday 6th July 2014

scottishathletics logo

West District 10k championships, Kirkintilloch, 19 June 2014


This year’s championship race was held as part of the popular annual 10k race organised by Kirkintilloch Olympians.

Staged mainly on the towpath of the Forth and Clyde canal in East Dunbartonshire, the course is fast and flat.

With more than 320 runners entered there was plenty of competition in each of the medal categories although on the night also clear winners.

Stuart Gibson (Ronhill Cambuslang) took firm control of the race after the first kilometre opening a large and widening margin to record a time of 31. 28 to be a clear winner.

Ciaran Dougherty (Ballahoustoon Road Runners) in second and Neal Robertson (Glasgow Tri) in third completed the male senior winners.

Kara Tait (Klimarnock) had an equally strong lead in the female categories, finishing in 36 minutes ahead of Shona McIntosh (Hunters Bog Trotters) and Michelle Sandison (Springburn Harriers).

In the veteran categories, Chris Greenhalgh (Giffnock) won the gold medal with local athletes from the Kirkintilloch Olympains taking silver (Stephen Allan) and bronze (Graham Mccabe).

Similarly in the female categories, the Olympians took silver (Elaine Hogg) and bronze (Annmarie McGregor) with the gold medal going to Claire Thompson (Victoria Prk/Glasgow).

As several runners from across the country commented, the Kirkintilloch 10k typifies a good club run – friendly, well organised, well marshalled and with the opportunity to beat your won targets.

Thanks to Robert Rogerson, the race organiser and the team from the Olympians for being excellent hosts and best wishes to them in their next event, the Neil McCover half marathon on October 5.

Tags: Claire Thompson, Kirkintilloch Olympians, Stuart Gibson, West District 10k

Expand Social Feeds