RunBalmoral; Winning Students; Killie XC; RPMF

Wednesday 26th October 2016

Entries have now opened for the 20th anniversary RunBalmoral races to be held over the weekend of April 22-23 2017.

And, as part of the celebrations, organisers are encouraging competitors to sign up for an exciting new test of endurance – the Devil of Deeside Challenge.

This novel event involves taking part in all four adult races over the two days – the ConocoPhillips 5km and the Stena Drilling 10km on the Saturday, followed by the Apollo duathlon and the TRAC 15 mile trail race on the Sunday.

The man and woman with the best cumulative time from the four races will win a fantastic trophy and prize, and everyone taking part in the challenge will receive a limited edition Devil of Deeside race t-shirt. A discounted entry fee will be given to all Challenge competitors.

In another new development, Chairman James Knowles announced that TRAC Oil & Gas have signed up as sponsors of both the 15 mile trail race and the 3 mile Wee trail race.

‘I am delighted that TRAC Oil & Gas have agreed to support our event for the next two years,’ he said.

‘These are difficult times for local companies so we are grateful for their support and for the support of all our sponsors, many of whom have been associated with Run Balmoral for a long part of the event’s 20 year history.

‘We are also delighted to once again be working in partnership with Balmoral Estate and to have the support of Aberdeenshire Council as well as many local community organisations who contribute to making the whole occasion something special.’

The race weekend programme will kick off as usual on the Saturday with the MPH Ltd primary schools 1.5km boys’ and girls’ races , followed by the Kongsberg Maritime secondary schools 2.5km, the ConocoPhillips 5km and the Stena Drilling Tartan 10km. The 5km and 10km also include a corporate team challenge competition. Then on the Sunday there’s the Apollo duathlon (5km run/20km cycle/5km run), the TRAC Trail Race (15 Miles) and the TRAC Wee Trail race (3 miles).

More details on the event website

With thanks to Fraser Clyne



Four prominent Scottish athletes have received support via the Winning Students programme.

The national sports scholarship programme announced this month which scholars would be part of the programme for 2016-17 academic year.

Laura Muir and Callum Hawkins are among those to land funding as students at Glasgow University and University of West of Scotland respectively.

High jumper Allan Smith (Edinburgh College) and hammer thrower Chris Bennett (The Open University) are other beneficiaries in athletics.

The scholarships provide gifted young athletes studying in colleges and universities across Scotland with funding support and the flexibility to achieve their sporting and academic goals.

More details on the scheme are online on the programme’s website.



Kilmarnock Harrriers are stepping up promotion of their Open XC event on Sunday 13 November – with sponsorship support from Scottish Power Energy Networks.

The first race is at 12.30pm that day with 10 in all, from U11 athletes to Seniors/Vets.

For everyone up to and including U17s, it is £4 on the day to race with the prices for the other age-groups £5 for SAL members and £7 for non-members.

Entry on the day from 11.00 am but clubs and individuals can facilitate faster registration by pre notification to

Download course map and race details here  race-details-and-course-map

Download full event info, including directions, parking and prizes, here – event-information



14 Scots land RPMF grants for 2016

The Ron Pickering Memorial Fund has been a great supporter of Scottish athletes in the recent past and applications are currently open for 2017.

Previous beneficiaries of an annual award include Greg Rutherford, Christine Ohuruogu, Mo Farah, Jessica Ennis-Hill, Sophie Hitchon, Robbie Grabarz, Sabrina Bakare, Tayler Campbell, Morgan Lake and many more.

Earlier this year, we announced that 14 Scots were recipients for 2016. Commonwealth Youth Games medallists Cameron Tindle, Ben Greenwood, Rachel Alexander, Alisha Rees and Carys McAulay all received awards. They were joined by Katy Brown, Joe Arthur, Emma Canning, Maddie Murray, Adam Scott, Cameron Boyek, Jack Lawrie, Rachel Hunter and Mhairi Hendry.

Grants are available to both able-bodied and Para athletes between the ages of 15 and 23. Grants to athletes over 23 may be made in exceptional circumstances. Those making applications should be aware certain standards are being sought – usually via British rankings on Power of 10 in particular events.

More details and application form

The 2017 application process closes on Monday 28 November.  More on the RPMF website


Tags: Allan Smith, Callum Hawkins, Chris Bennett, Kilmarnock Harriers XC, Laura Muir, Ron Pickering Memorial Fund, Run Balmoral, Winning Students

Expand Social Feeds