4J Award Winners: Club, coach, volunteer and Officials categories

Sunday 29th October 2023

Guest of Honour Eilidh Doyle chats to Bryan Burnett at the 4J Annual Awards (photo by Bobby Gavin)

Volunteers are the platform on which our sport is built and the message was once again crystal clear at the 4J Annual Awards.

Guest of Honour Eilidh Doyle underlined a theme which was prominent throughout a memorable evening at the Hilton Hotel in Glasgow – everyone has a role to play in helping making athletics in Scotland happen.

That cuts across club volunteers, coaches at all levels, our qualified Officials, staff at venues and indeed with the governing body itself scottishathletics.

We will look at our three Honorary Life Membership recipients – Andy Law, Elaine Park and Joyce Rammell – in a further story on here over the next few weeks and any appreciation of their careers would recognise a huge contribution.

To listen to their citations on Saturday night was to reflect on how our sport only happens thanks to the commitment and dedication of volunteers.

‘It is something I have appreciated more since I retired from the sport – how everyone has a role to play,’ said Eilidh.

‘I’ve started to see the other side or the full picture if you like. As an athlete going through your own journey you tend to be quite focused on yourself and your performance.

‘You are aware of the pathway, yes, but you don’t probably appreciate fully who is doing what. There are so many people involved and contributing to the athlete’s journey.

‘I’m talking about Scottish Schools events, coaches on a weekly basis, picked teams, Officials measuring jumps, photo-finish or time-keeping, there are so many people helping. Without folk in those roles, we would not have medallists at World Champs – it’s that simple.’

All our winners are listed below in bold and, to reflect the contribution and achievement of others, we have included the full short-lists one more time.

Congratulations to all involved in these Awards.


Impact Club of the Year:

Aberdeen AAC; Corstorphine AAC; Springburn Harriers

Off-track Club of the Year:

Central AC; Giffnock North AC; Shettleston Harriers

Track and Field Club of the Year:

Edinburgh AC; Harmeny AC; Pitreavie AAC

Janice Eaglesham MBE Para Development Club of the Year:

Aberdeen AAC; Perth Strathtay Harriers; VP-Glasgow



Community Club Coach of the Year:

Gary Beggan (Springburn Harriers); Kay Cooke (Inverclyde AC); Frances Wood (Linlithgow AC)

Performance Development Coach of the Year:

Ross Cairns; Steve Doig; Anne Scott; David Watson

Performance Coach of the Year:

Ross Cairns; Angela Mudge; Liz Nuttall

Para Performance Coach of the Year:

Jamie Bowie; Steve Doig; Rodger Harkins



Technical Official of the Year:

Rob Dalziel; Ian Mann; Pauline Pearson

Volunteer of the Year:

Graeme Reid (Corstorphine AAC); Craig Stewart (Harmeny AC); David Wagstaff (Shetland)

Raymond Hutcheson Trophy for Services to Officiating:

Margaret Brown

Tom Stillie Sword:

Derek Easton (Central AC)


Tags: 4J Annual Awards, 4J Annual Awards Dinner, Eilidh Doyle

Expand Social Feeds