Support system! 20 Scots backed by Ron Pickering Memorial Fund

Wednesday 26th January 2022

Ron Pickering Memorial Fund website

Scottish athletes are once again grateful to receive support from the Ron Pickering Memorial Fund.

A total of 178 talented young British athletes have been backed by the programme with almost £40,000 being awarded overall for the forthcoming year.

And it’s great to see no fewer than 20 Scots involved – around 11.5 percent of the UK-wide tally.

Applications for the RPMF grants were open to those aged 15-23 and 2022 marks the 31st anniversary of the charity, following the death of Ron Pickering in February 1991.

Since that time, the programme has awarded grants totalling more than £2m with a swathe of GB and NI international athletes and global medallists having been helped in their formative years in athletics.

We’re delighted to note once again that the Scottish cohort features athletes from a number of disciplines as well as two Para athletes.

We send our congratulations to all the athletes and their families and coaches – and to the clubs across the length and breadth of Scotland who have guided their development.

Full list of 2022 recipients

Louisa Brown (Garscube) Alex Chalmers

Rachel Callan (Giffnock North) Jackie Alexander

Isla Calvert (Edinburgh Uni Hare and Hounds) Lewis Walker

Sarah Calvert (Livingston) Lewis Walker

Corey Campbell (Team East Lothian) Alister Russell

Kai Crawford (Aberdeen AAC) Aaron Odentz

Gavin Drysdale (Red Star AC) David Phee

Kane Elliott (Falkirk Vics) Willie Sharp

Murray Fotheringham (Giffnock North) Colin Sinclair

Rebecca Grieve (Pitreavie AAC) Francis Smith

Alexander Thomson (in VP-Glasgow blue vest) and Reuben Nairne are among the 20 athletes receiving support (photos by Bobby Gavin)

Katie Johnson (Edinburgh AC)

Megan Keith (Inverness Harriers) Ross Cairns

Alastair Marshall (Central AC) Derek Easton

Reuben Nairne (Giffnock North)

Carmen Neat (Aberdeen AAC)

Meghan Porterfield (VP-Glasgow) Alison Grey

Alessandro Schenini (Giffnock North) Ryan McAllister

Sarah Tait (Lasswade AC) Kirk Smith

Alexander Thomson (VP-Glasgow) Chris Baillie

Erin Wallace (Giffnock North) Andy Young


Tags: Ron Pickering Memorial Fund, RPMF

Expand Social Feeds