30 Scottish coaches land Event Group qualification

Tuesday 20th November 2018

Coach education courses

scottishathletics are pleased to confirm a number of Scottish coaches have achieved their Event Group Coach qualification.

The final integration phase took place over the weekend of November 17/18 and, following those sessions, 31 coaches achieved success in their Event Group Coach qualification.

It’s great to note that no fewer than 24 clubs or groups were represented through those individuals with the learning extending the length and breadth of Scotland from the likes of Ellon AAC, Aberdeen AAC, Metro Aberdeen and Garioch Roadrunners in the North and Grampian to Gala Harriers in the Borders and Dumfries in the south-west.

The Event Group Coach qualification is for those coaches working with athletes at the Event Group development stage (typically 15-19 years old) and these coaches are actively involved with groups and have access to event group development stage athletes.

The qualification can also be completed by coaches at UKA Level 3 and 4 as a part of their Continual Professional Development (CPD).

Now completed, the qualification will be added to the UKA License for the coaches listed below:

Paul Kelly Aberdeen AAC; James McMenemy Airdrie Harriers; Karen Kelly Arbroath and District AC; Colin Thomas Bellahouston Harriers/West End Runners; Liane Brown Blaydon Harriers and AC; Ian Crawford, Simon Gold, Colin Stephen all of Cambuslang Harriers

Angela McCafferty and Stephen Wallace of Cumbernauld AAC; Russell Watson of Dumfries and Galloway Wheelchair; Douglas Brown Dumfries RC; Rosie Graham Ellon AAC;  Stephen Baird Falkirk Victoria Harriers; Gavin Brown Gala Harriers; Philip Owens Garioch Roadrunners

Ryan McAllister Giffnock North AC; Neil Nairn Glasgow Dental Hospital and School Runners; Lorraine Boyd and Craig Stewart of Harmeny AC; Kenny Morrison Inverclyde Sprint Group; Angela Young Larkhall YMCA Harriers; Edward McQuillan Law and District AAC; Jonathan Kennedy Law and District AAC/Livingston AC; Frances Wood Linlithgow AC;

Stephen Marshall of Livingston AC; Peter Jennings Metro Aberdeen; Mike Malcolm-Smith Musselburgh and District AC; Gordon Innes and Martin Hayes of VP-Glasgow; Gareth Beggan Whitemoss AAC


Many congratulations from all at scottishathletics to all these coaches for taking the Event Group qualification courses and we look forward to you taking back that knowledge and expertise into your clubs and groups and helping to grow the sport from there.

Coaches section of this website


Tags: Coach Education, coaching, Event Group Coach

Expand Social Feeds