Relive XC season in photos – and our GP winners

Tuesday 20th March 2018

Anna Macfadyen savours the moment as she wins U20 title at the Lindsays National XC at Falkirk (photo by Bobby Gavin)

Bobby Gavin of has been our photographer for a number of years now and continues to deliver excellent shots from all manner of events – in all weathers!

Bobby has been behind the lens throughout the 2017-18 cross country season in Scotland and has pulled together a superb selection of photos from various events from across the Lindsays Cross Country Season and the Great Edinburgh XC.

We hope you enjoy this look-back at the cross country season . . .


Lachlan Oates (on left) won the scottishathletics Cross Country GP for the second successive year

CCGP2017-18 F

Lachlan Oates battled through the mud for a fine seventh place finish at the Inter-Counties XC at Loughborough – and that helped him retain his scottishathletics Cross Country Grand Prix title.

The Shettleston Harriers athlete collects the top prize of £750 for his efforts over the course of the six-event series which sees £4000 shared by men and women.

Steph Pennycook, silver medallist at both the Lindsays National XC and the Lindsays Short Course Champs, took the women’s GP title after consistent performances this winter.

Oates amassed 229 points to win from Lindsays National XC champion, Kris Jones, who scored 176 as Central AC’s Alastair Hay took third with 147. Andy Douglas of Inverclyde AC was fourth in the men’s division with 139 points – seven ahead of Fife AC’s Logan Rees.

Completing the top ten in the Men’s table were: Will Mackay (Aberdeen AAC), Grant Sheldon (Cambuslang Harriers), Calum McKenzie (Corstorphine AAC), Michael Ferguson (Aberdeen AAC) and John Newsom (Inverness Harriers). That means there were nine different clubs represented in the top ten.

Pennycook won with 215 points from Michelle Sandison of Springburn Harriers, who scored 144 points, with Kayleigh Jarrett of Metro Aberdeen taking third on 121 – largely thanks to a fine run at Loughborough in those tough conditions. Edinburgh AC’s Rebecca Burns was fourth on 114, four points ahead of Fife AC’s Annabel Simpson.

Completing the top ten in the Women’s table were: Fiona Brian (Metro Aberdeen), Elspeth Curran (Kilbarchan AAC), Nicola Hood (Dumfries), Mhairi Maclennan (Inverness Harriers), Jo Williams (Lothian RC). That means there were eight clubs represented in the top ten.

The top prize in each division is £750 with second place worth £400 and third worth £250. Well done to all these athletes and their coaches and clubs – and thanks for supporting the scottishathletics Cross Country Grand Prix for 2017-18.

Cross Country GP page

Steph Pennycook – GP winner finished 2nd at Kirkcaldy and Falkirk


Tags: Bobby Gavin. Lindsays Cross Country Season, Cross Country GP, Falkirk, Lachlan Oates, Steph Pennycook

Expand Social Feeds