Scottish Road Grand Prix 2015

Sunday 22nd March 2015

Shona McIntosh (right) won Grand Prix from Jen Emsley (centre) and Megan Crawford (left)

Shona McIntosh (right) won last year’s Grand Prix by one point from Jenn Wetton (centre)

Road Race Grand Prix for 2015

scottishathletics are pleased to announce the return of their Road Running Grand Prix for 2015 season – with a change of prize-money format.

Established in 2009, the Road Running Grand Prix will incorporate five of Scotland’s biggest and best road races – with the Scottish Road Running Championships (5K to marathon) again constituting the 2015 SAL Road Running Grand Prix Series.

The format will be a £2000 prize pot for Male athletes and a £2000 prize pot for Female athletes which will be shared, based on athlete performances across the year.

Athletes will earn ’shares’ of their prize pot by running faster than the suggested A and B standards below at each of the races.

Performances which better the A standard listed, earn the athlete five shares. Performances which better the B standad listed, earn the athlete one share (of the overall pot at the end of the season).

We hope the standards will motivate our leading athletes to compete against each other regularly and stretch each other to get as many athletes as possible beyond the performance standards. Ideally, the 2015 season will witness a number of PBs and perhaps Course Records.

Linking the prize-money to standards is being introduced with a view to improving the quality and depth of road running in Scotland – which may in turn lead to further opportunities.

After the final race of the Grand Prix, the prize pot will be divided among the athletes based on the number of shares they have achieved across the race series.


2015 Male Female
A Standard B Standard A Standard B Standard
5 shares 1 share 5 shares 1 share
Tom Scott 10 Miler (5 April) 50:00 50:40 56:20 57:00
Silverknowes 5k (29 April) 14:35 14:45 16:14 16:24
Stirling 10k (13 September) 30:00 30:20 34:07 34:27
Loch Ness Marathon (27 September) 2:20:13 2:22:13 2:50:00 2:52:00
Glasgow Half Marathon (4 October) 66:00 67:00 76:00 77:00

*Shettleston’s Tewolde Mengisteab and Shona McIntosh of Hunters Bog Trotters won the Road Race Grand Prix for 2014, with the women’s title coming down to a single point.







Expand Social Feeds