Hawick teenager Ryan wins New Year Sprint to scoop £4000 top prize

Sunday 7th January 2024

Photo by Bobby Gavin


Hawick youngster Ryan McMichan timed his finish superbly to win the New Year Sprint crown at Grangemouth on Saturday.

It was the 155th version of the well-known event and the 18-year-old emerged victorious from the final as he coped best with three rounds in one day.

McMichan started the iconic handicap off 8.5m and finished a full metre clear of Central AC’s Lewis Miller in 11.35 seconds. Greenock’s Simon Okiti took third.

‘It is the biggest win of my career so far,’ said Ryan, after receiving the Eric Liddell Trophy and a cheque for £4000 from new event organiser James Cunningham. The promoter himself is a former winner of the New Year Sprint.

‘I knew I had three races in me today because I have been training hard and done plenty of work in terms of endurance.

‘I tried to stay positive and warm between the semi-final and the final. I got away to a good start and always felt I was gaining on the others.

‘I finished strongly and I was pretty sure in the moment that I’d won the title.’

True grit . . . New Year Sprint promoter, James Cunningham, was determined the event would go ahead at Grangemouth (photo by Bobby Gavin)


Tags: New Year Sprint

Expand Social Feeds