New intake for our Leaders’ Academy

Friday 8th September 2017

Colin Hutchison, Head of Development with scottishathletics

First graduates from our Leaders’ Academy

Following on from the success of the inaugural scottishathletics Club Leaders’ Academy in 2016/17, this weekend will see the launch of the second year of the Academy.

A new cohort of 18 leaders from clubs across the length and breadth of Scotland have signed up for sessions through 2017/18.

Our new Leaders’ Academy year begins with a residential weekend at Dunblane Hydro. This gives the leaders a great opportunity to get to know one another and to start exploring their own leadership skills and styles.

The workshops there on Friday and Saturday will be led by Tree of Knowledge Managing Director and Speaker, Gavin Oattes, who was a huge hit with leaders on the first year of the Academy.

Following dinner on the Friday evening the leaders will also have the opportunity to hear from Malcolm Gillies, former Vice-Chair of the Six Nations Rugby Council and founder of the Inch Park Community Sports Club.

‘We are delighted to be starting the second year of the Club Leaders’ Academy and to be working with a further 18 key folk from clubs across the country,’ said Colin Hutchison, Head of Development with scottishathletics.

‘The feedback from the first year of Leaders’ has been invaluable in helping us shape the second year of the programme and we are extremely grateful to them for sharing their thoughts.’

The Leaders’ accepted onto the second year of the programme are as follows:

Carol Barrie Helensburgh AAC; Gary Beggan Springburn Harriers; Kelly Bissett Forth Valley Flyers; Jason Bohan Glasgow Frontrunners; Morag Craig Whitemoss AAC; Peter Hall Fraserburgh Running Club

Emily Jackson Bellahouston Harriers; Marika Kennedy Cumbernauld AAC; Eoghan MacNamara Aberdeen AAC; Damian McAuley Springburn Harriers; Craig Morton Lasswade AC; Scott Partyka Springburn Harriers

Catriona Pettigrew-Smith Cumbernauld AAC; Joshua Ruddy Greenock Glenpark Harriers; Louise Saint North Ayrshire AC; Lorna Simpson Linlithgow AC; Rachel Watson Aberdeen AAC

*CLUB CONFERENCE (formerly Club Leaders’ Conference)


When: Saturday 4 November 2017 9.30am –  3.30pm (followed by Annual Awards Dinner at same venue)

Where: Hilton Hotel, Glasgow

Cost: FREE to scottishathletics affiliated club members/£50 non-affiliated

Further information on this year’s programme and the booking process will be available shortly. In the meantime please set the dates aside in your diary.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Club Conference.


Tags: Colin Hutchison, Dunblane Hydro, Leaders' Acadmey

Expand Social Feeds