Marathon Champs; Glasgow XC; RPMF grants

Wednesday 16th November 2016

The Scottish Marathon Championships for 2017 are being staged within the Virgin Money London Marathon next April.

And there is now an opportunity to race there via the ‘Championship Entry’ process for the London evnet, which has now opened.

This present opportunities for athletes who have PBs inside certain time standards and, looking at Scottish rankings for 2016 so far, this applies to a more than 100 Scottish men and more than 100 Scottish women.

The standards are as follows: Men: Half 75.00 minutes; Marathon 2.45. Women: Half 90.00 minutes; Marathon 3.15.

Enter online ‘Championship Entry’

Details on Scottish championship medals on offer, for individuals and teams, are on the Road Running and Cross Country website event page.



The Glasgow Athletics Association continue to stage their annual series of cross country sessions through the winter – with the latest session this Saturday (19 November).

Following the first session at Bellahouston in October, four dates remain set aside for now for athletes, clubs and coaches to ear-mark as part of their preparations towards the National XC at Falkirk in February – which marks the culmination of the Lindsays Cross Country Season.

These sessions have become increasingly popular for all ages and offer the opportunity for athletes to enjoy training in a group and for coaches to meet informally. scottishathletics fully supports these principles.

Dates and venues are listed below. All athletes should be warmed up and ready to start the session at 10.30am sharp.

Saturday 19 November: Tollcross (meet at flagpole)   

Tuesday 27 December: Bellahouston or Pollock Park (meet at Burrell car park)

Saturday 14 January: Bellahouston    

Saturday 11 February: Tollcross      

For more information on the sessions, please contact



14 Scots land RPMF grants for 2016

The Ron Pickering Memorial Fund has been a great supporter of Scottish athletes in the recent past and applications are currently open for 2017.

Previous beneficiaries of an annual award include Greg Rutherford, Christine Ohuruogu, Mo Farah, Jessica Ennis-Hill, Sophie Hitchon, Robbie Grabarz, Sabrina Bakare, Tayler Campbell, Morgan Lake and many more.

Earlier this year, we announced that 14 Scots were recipients for 2016. Commonwealth Youth Games medallists Cameron Tindle, Ben Greenwood, Rachel Alexander, Alisha Rees and Carys McAulay all received awards. They were joined by Katy Brown, Joe Arthur, Emma Canning, Maddie Murray, Adam Scott, Cameron Boyek, Jack Lawrie, Rachel Hunter and Mhairi Hendry.

Grants are available to both able-bodied and Para athletes between the ages of 15 and 23. Grants to athletes over 23 may be made in exceptional circumstances. Those making applications should be aware certain standards are being sought – usually via British rankings on Power of 10 in particular events.

More details and application form

The 2017 application process closes on Monday 28 November. More on the RPMF website


Expand Social Feeds