Garscube win main Lindsays Trophy with XC at ‘heart and soul’ for clubs

Wednesday 29th May 2024

2024 Lindsays Trophy Finishers

Garscube Harriers are the main winners of the Lindsays Trophy for 2024.

And we’re delighted to confirm our ‘champions’ in two more divisions in the new three-tier structure for the Lindsays Trophy – Glasgow University Hares and Hounds and Lothian Running Club.

The three-tier system looks to have been a success in the first year with no fewer than 99 Scottish clubs represented (by at least one athlete) at the three major events in the Lindsays Cross Country Season – the Lindsays National Relays, the Lindsays Short Course and the Lindsays National XC.

In addition, a dozen clubs featured more than 100 finishers across those three events – with the goal of the Lindsays Trophy very much to try and engage with clubs and encourage participation in cross country.

Within the new three-tier structure, we have also introduced ‘promotion and relegation’ which sets clubs of similar turnout in cross country against each other (see the download document above).

Ian Beattie with Daniel Scroop of Garscube and Stephen Addison of Glasgow Uni and Garscube athletes (photo by Jamie Simpson)

Ian Beattie, Chief Operating Officer of Lindsays, said: ‘It is fantastic to see competition for a Lindsays Trophy thriving. To have almost 100 clubs taking part in the events series is of huge credit to all involved.

‘Through our support of scottishathletics, we are proud to be helping encourage healthier lives through sport

‘It is great, therefore, to see that impact increasing. We are sure the appeal of running will grow further as even more people are inspired by the great summer of athletics which we have ahead.

‘Congratulations to Garscube Harriers, Glasgow University Hares and Hounds, and Lothian Running Club and well done to all of the clubs who competed this season.

‘We are already looking forward to next season.’

Ian made the presentation at Garscube’s training night with Glasgow University Hares and Hounds on hand to receive the Tier Two trophy. We plan a separate presentation for Lothian RC.

‘We at Garscube Harriers are immensely proud of our achievement in winning the Lindsays trophy,’ said Garscube President, Daniel Scroop.

‘The long-standing support for the athletics community in Scotland from Lindsays has been brilliant for clubs like ours. The competition really galvanises us. And of course it’s great for Garscube to be back at the top this year!

‘A personal highlight for me this year was seeing so many beginners don the Garscube vest for the first time. Special thanks to Amy Cromarty, who leads our Beginners and Improvers Group, to coach Robert Cuthbertson, who led the final charge which secured us the trophy, to head coach John Bell, who inspires us every week with his commitment and love for the sport, and to Alex Chalmers and the junior coaching team for nurturing the next generation.

‘Reflecting on the year and looking at what Scotland’s incredible elite athletes are achieving as they build towards Paris 2024, it’s clear that cross country remains the heart and soul of Scotland’s world-leading endurance scene.

‘It’s a privilege for a club like ours to be a small part of that. Long may it continue.’

Giffnock North have been the dominant force in recent years and were very much still in contention ahead of the Lindsays National XC at Falkirk.

But Garscube mustered their members superbly again and took the victory by 10 athletes – with 233 finishers from Garscube to 223 from Giffnock.

It’s really quite something to think two clubs supplying more than 450 finishers across just three events in cross country. Edinburgh AC, the first winners of this Trophy, were third (186 finishers).

Falkirk Victoria Harriers (151) and Cambuslang Harriers (143) complete the top five.

Glasgow Uni Hares and Houngs won Tier Two with 101 finishers – a brilliant effort from the students and adding to our tally of those with 100 or more finishers.

Hunters Bog Trotters were second (80) and Kilmarnock Harriers were third (70).

Lothian RC won Tier Three with 54 finishers – and this was the tightest ‘race’ of the three divisions. Lothian won it by a single athlete with Motherwell AC on 53 finishers!

Moray Road Runners mustered 41 to take third place in this tier.

Mike Johnston, Convenor of the RR and CC Commission said: ‘It’s great to be presenting the Lindsays Trophy once again and we say a big thank you to Lindsays for their support.

‘The difference is this year we are presenting three trophies following the move to a three-tier ‘league’ structure for the competition.

‘We felt it was a good innovation and some of the stats from the first year are impressive – with a dozen clubs now having more than 100 finishers across the three Lindsays national events in the season.

‘Garscube Harriers are a club who place a strong emphasis on cross country via all the age groups right through to Seniors and Masters. Well done to them on mustering such big turnouts at Cumbernauld, Lanark and Falkirk this season.

‘For the top two clubs combined – Garscube and Giffnock North AC – to be at around 450 athletes finished really emphasises that the Lindsays Trophy does what it says on the tin: it encourages participation in the Lindsays Cross Country three national events.’

We send a huge thank you to Lindsays for their sponsorship support and in particular to Ian Beattie, Fiona Sargent, Karen Slaughter and Megan Fletcher. Thanks to Jamie Simpson for photos and to Garscube Harriers for their hospitality.

Photos by Jamie Simpson


Tags: Garscube Harriers, Ian Beattie, Lindsays Cross Country Season, Lindsays Trophy, Lothian RC

Expand Social Feeds