AGM: Eilidh on Board for four more years – membership fees unchanged

Saturday 1st October 2022

Photo by Bobby Gavin

Annual Report 2022

Eillidh Doyle has been re-elected for a further four year term on the scottishathletics Board.

Our Annual General Meeting agreed the recommendation from our Board for our most decorated track and field athlete to continue in a Non-Executive role.

Eilidh first joined the Board in 2018 while still competing at global level but retired in 2021 and now has a part-time position with sportscotland.

‘I am delighted to be continuing on the Board for another four years,’ said Eilidh.

‘I feel it is important, although now retired, to have an athlete representative on the Board to help give a different perspective.

‘I now have a far more appreciative understanding of the work that goes on within scottishathletics as the National Governing Body and hopefully I have been able to contribute more of an understanding of the athlete’s position.’

In further moves, the appointment of Chuxx Onyia as a Non-Director has been approved as we said thank you to Alison Johnstone after eight years of service (we will cover these changes in a separate news story).

The online meeting, with a full quorum of club representatives and chaired by David Ovens, met to consider the Annual Report for the year from 1 April 2021 through to 31 March 2022.

And chief executive Colin Hutchison thanked clubs for a huge effort during those 12 months as the sport sought to rebuild and recover from the impact of the Covid-19 global pandemic.

Colin Hutchison chats at an event in the summer of 2021 with Francis Smith (photo by Bobby Gavin)

Annual Report 2022

‘At the forefront of the successes of the past year have been the member clubs, their volunteers, the coaches, the Officials and the athletes,’ said Colin.

‘The leadership shown nationally and locally within the sport has been key to the impressive way that athletics in Scotland has bounced back from the challenges faced over the past 24 months.

‘Undoubtedly, the steps to recovery continue but as this Annual Report sets out, the work that has been done across the organisation and the sport has ensured that athletics in Scotland is healthy and moving forward in a positive direction.

‘During the year in question (April 2021 to end March 2022) the Olympics and Paralympics in Tokyo provided a huge boost to everyone involved in, or with an interest in sport, and the Scottish athletes representing GB and NI made us all immensely proud.

‘As the Roll of Honour in our Annual Report outlines, there were outstanding performances across a number of disciplines.

‘Domestically, it is impossible to do justice to the great work that has been done by clubs to keep athletes engaged and ensure there was a smooth return to competition in April and May 2021.

‘With a local approach required to restart competition, collaboration was needed in all areas of the country. The club leaders, event organisers, coaches, Officials and volunteers did a remarkable job in providing opportunities across Scotland to get people back competing.’

Olympic medallist Josh Kerr returned to his roots at Edinburgh AC (photo by Gary Leek)

The AGM also rubber-stamped decisions around the Officer-Bearers for our Commissions and the decision to confer Honorary Life Membership on three highly-deserving stalwarts of our sport.

There is no change to scottishathletics membership fees across the various categories.

The Board proposes that the meeting considers awarding Honorary Life Membership to:

*Sandra Hardacre

*John Rodger

*Liz Wilder

These will be recognised at the 4J Annual Awards Dinner in Glasgow on Saturday 29 October.

Buy tickets for 4J Annual Awards Dinner


The following nominations were accepted by the AGM in terms of office-bearers for our Commission:

Track and Field Commission:

Convenor: Leslie Roy MBE nominated by VP-Glasgow

Secretary: Lesley Thirkell nominated by Fife AC

Road Running and Cross Country Commission:

Convenor: Mike Johnston nominated by Cambuslang Harriers

Secretary: Julia McAfee nominated by Cambuslang Harriers

Hill Running Commission:

Convenor: Hugh Buchanan nominated by Central AC

Secretary: Helen Fallas nominated by Carnethy RHC

Finance Secretary: Andy Douglas nominated by Inverclyde AC

Officials Commission

Convenor: Margaret Brown nominated by VP-Glasgow

Secretary: Margaret McInally nominated by Falkirk Victoria Harriers

Thank you to all our club representatives who attended the AGM either online or via proxy votes in advance. We appreciate the support.



Tags: AGM, Alison Johnstone, Chuxx Onyia, Colin Hutchison, David Ovens, Eilidh Doyle

Expand Social Feeds