4J Awards: Our winners in clubs, coaches, volunteers, Officials

Sunday 30th October 2022

Aberdeen AAC’s Eoghan MacNamara and Fiona Davidson celebrate Track and Field Club success with Nick Percy (photo by Bobby Gavin)

Jake and Sean land Athlete of the Year titles

Volunteers are the ‘backbone’ of our sport and that message was abundantly clear throughout our 4J Annual Awards.

We will look at our three Honorary Life Membership recipients – Sandra Hardacre, John Rodger and Liz Wilder – in a further story on here over the next week or so, but even a quick appreciation of their careers would recognise a huge contribution.

Sandra, John and Liz have fulfilled so many different roles that their HLM presentations simply underlined how our sport happens thanks to the commitment and dedication of volunteers.

Guests of Honour Geoff Wightman and Katharine Merry left nobody at the Hilton Hotel in any doubt of their appreciation of all roles and why it is right we celebrate and acknowledge our coaches, clubs, volunteers and scottishathletics Officials.

All our winners are highlighted below and, this year, we’ve taken the decision in this story to list all those short-listed, as well, as a final nod to their contribution.

Photos by Bobby Gavin on Facebook

Giffnock North AC celebrate their Off Track Club of the Year award with Eilish McColgan (photo by Bobby Gavin)

(Each Award listed in italics, with winner in bold among the other nominees)

Impact Club of the Year:

Aberdeen AAC, Pitreavie AAC, Springburn Harriers

Off-track Club of the Year:

Giffnock North AC, Lochaber AC, Team East Lothian AC

Track and Field Club of the Year:

Aberdeen AAC, Giffnock North AC, Law & District AAC

Janice Eaglesham MBE Para Development Club of the Year:

Aberdeen AAC, Stirling University AC, Team East Lothian


Colin Thomas won our Community Coach of the Year award and Alison Grey was named Performance Development Coach of the Year (photos by Bobby Gavin).

Performance Coach of the Year:

Liz Nuttall, Geoff Wightman, Andy Young

Performance Development Coach of the Year:

Ross Cairns, Alison Grey, David Watson

Para Performance Coach of the Year:

Steve Doig, Rodger Harkins, Joyce Rammell

Community Club Coach of the Year:

Mags MacRae & Nigel Thomson (Orkney AC), Rachel Watson (Aberdeen AAC), Colin Thomas (West End Road Runners/Bellahouston Harriers)


Stuart Donnelly of Team East Lothian receives his Volunteer of the Year award from Ross Paterson (photo by Bobby Gavin)

Volunteer of the Year:

Stuart Donnelly (Team East Lothian); Maureen Stewart and Annabel Bain (Stornoway RAC), Andrew Ronald (Falkirk Victoria Harriers)

The Tom Stillie Award (sword):

John Mackay of Shettleston Harriers


Technical Official of the Year:

Nicola Cameron, Alison McGee, Claire Shanley

Raymond Hutcheson Trophy for Services to Officiating:

Margaret-Ann MacLachlan



Tags: 4J Annual Awards

Expand Social Feeds