Jake and Sean land our 4J Athlete of Year titles after memorable year

Sunday 30th October 2022

Photo by Bobby Gavin

Award winners in clubs, coaches, volunteer and Official categories

Jake Wightman is the 4J Scottish Athlete of the Year – after winning the toughest selection decision in the history of the award.

The World Champion at 1500m saw off the considerable challenges of European and Commonwealth champion, Laura Muir, and Birmingham 2022 and European double medallist, Eilish McColgan.

scottishathletics recognised Wightman’s achievement at the 4J Annual Awards with Birmingham 2022 wheelchair marathon silver medallist, Sean Frame, landing the 4J Para Athlete of the Year title.

Sean took the honours from a short-list which also included Samantha Kinghorn and Melanie Woods.

Jake of course bridged a gap of 31 years to Liz McColgan’s World gold and, by chance, his dad and coach Geoff was Guest of Honour with Katharine Merry at the Awards Dinner in Glasgow on Saturday night.

Geoff was named Performance Coach of the Year with Jake having won 1500m bronze at the Commonwealths and 800m silver at the European Championships in addition to eclipsing peerless Norwegian, Jacob Ingebrigtsen, in Oregon.

Eilish collected the Commonwealth Games Achievement award for that epic 10,000m triumph at Birmingham 2022.

It was a special night in Glasgow with awards presented to coaches, clubs, volunteers and Officials as well as athletes and three Honorary Life Memberships.

Photos by Bobby Gavin on Facebook

Eilish McColgan receives her Commonwealth trophy from Leslie Roy (photo by Bobby Gavin)

‘I am delighted and it is a special feeling in a year when Scots have performed so well across a number of major championships,’ said Jake.

‘I felt it could easily have gone to any of the three of us on the short-lists because each of us will say ‘that was the season of our lives’. Laura and Eilish have been truly world class in 2022 as well.’

Jake unfortunately missed the Awards Dinner because of a prior engagement at a wedding and admitted he thought the big award may have ben shared.

‘I was sure it was going to be tied,’ he said.

‘The fact that both Laura and Eilish won gold for Team Scotland at the Commonwealths felt big to me – it’s only every four years there’s the opportunity to do that in a Scottish vest and show we are doing well.

‘So I did think all three of us might be joint winners. I think it simply proves we have reached a place where Scottish athletes are serious contenders on the world stage. We are picking up medals at every championship we compete at. I am sure this is not the end of it.

‘What happened for me at the Worlds still feels a bit surreal – even a few months later.

‘You go into the sport as a kid and you dream of being Olympic champion or World champion – but how many actually get that honour beside their name? I feel very grateful to have had that chance in Oregon and to have taken it.’

Wheelchair racer Frame was thrilled, too.

‘I’m so proud to be Scottish Para Athlete of the Year because the competition is very strong – there were five of us at the Commonwealths and Samantha and Melanie, who were short-listed, are as deserving as me,’ said Sean.

‘Winning silver in the marathon was a moment I will never forget and it made years or hard work and lots of miles out on the road all feel worthwhile.’

Geoff and Susan Wightman collected the 4J Athlete of the Year trophy on Jake’s behalf from Katharine Merry and Chris van der Kuyl and Paddy Burns of 4J Studios.

Sean Frame was our 4J Para Athlete of the Year and is pictured with Paddy Burns and Chris van der Kuyl

(Each Award listed in italics, with winner in bold among the other nominees)

4J Athlete of the Year:

Eilish McColgan (Dundee Hawkhill), Laura Muir (Dundee Hawkhill), Jake Wightman (Edinburgh AC)

4J Para Athlete of the Year:

Sean Frame, Samantha Kinghorn, Melanie Woods (all Red Star AC)

4J U20 Athlete of the Year:

Megan Keith (Inverness Harriers/Edinburgh Uni Hare and Hounds), Tendai Nyabadza (Harmeny AC), Paige Stevens (Falkirk Victoria Harriers)

4J U17 Athlete of the Year:

Corey Campbell (Team East Lothian), Dean Patterson (Glasgow School of Sport), Libby White (Ayr Seaforth)

4J Masters Athlete of the Year:

Paul Forbes (Edinburgh AC), Fiona Matheson (Falkirk Victoria Harriers), Charlotte Morgan (Carnethy HRC), Alastair Walker (Teviotdale Harriers)


There were three further athlete awards presented at the 4J Annual Awards Dinner for 2022.

Commonwealth Games Achievement Trophy for Birmingham 2022:

Eilish McColgan

George Dallas Memorial Trophy:

Samantha Kinghorn

Martin Hyman Junior Hill Running Trophy:

Fraser Gilmour



Tags: 4J Annual Awards, 4J Annual Awards Dinner, Jake Wightman, Sean Frame

Expand Social Feeds