Lindsays Trophy: first League tables for three divisions after Cumbernauld

Saturday 28th October 2023

2024 Lindsays Trophy Finishers Nat XC Relays

The Lindsays Trophy is up and running for the 2023-24 season – in the new format of three divisions.

And there is plenty to play for at forthcoming events at Lanark and Falkirk following on from the Lindsays National XC Relays at Cumbernauld.

We split all clubs into three divisions based on finisher numbers across three national championship events last season.

Now we have points awarded for Cumbernauld to give us the first tables of the 2023-24 campaign.

The 1-2-3 positions after round one are as follows:

Division One: 1 Garscube Harriers (78); 2 Giffnock North AC  (71); 3= Central AC/Falkirk Victoria Harriers (53)

Division Two: 1 Glasgow Uni Hare and Hounds (37); 2 Inverclyde AC (31); 3 Cumbernauld AAC (28)

Division Three: 1 Motherwell AC (19); 2 Pitreavie AAC (18); 3= Strathearn Harriers/Moray Road Runners (17)

Revamped! Lindsays Trophy now splits clubs into three divisions

Note that in the interests of fairness and the integrity of the Lindsays Trophy competition across the season, we have awarded ‘notional’ points tallies for Cumbernauld for six clubs.

This follows travel disruption and weather warnings last weekend (affecting Aberdeen AAC, Metro Aberdeen, Dundee Hawkhill Harriers, Dundee Road Runners, Banchory Stonehaven and St Andrews Uni).

The points figure awarded for each club has been based on a 75 percent turnout (finishers) from the club’s original entry tally for the National XC Relays.

We would ask all clubs to accept this in the spirit in which is intended by scottishathletics and Lindsays.

Duncan Robinson and Hannah Ryding celebrate Giffnock North success in the Lindsays Trophy in 2023 – we will now present three trophies for the three divisions (photo by Bobby Gavin)


Tags: Garscube Harriers, Glasgow Uni Hare and Hounds, Lindsays Trophy, Motherwell AC

Expand Social Feeds