Nicole clocks fast 200m; Kayleigh short-listed; Max tops leaderboard

Wednesday 24th March 2021

Event report

American based Scottish sprinter Nicole Yeargin has made a strong start to her outdoor season.

Yeargin set a new Personal Best for 200m while taking the victory in the USC Trojan Invitational event in Los Angeles last weekend.

And Nicole’s run of 23.23 took her just inside the qualifying standard for the women’s 200m for the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games – with that mark set at 23.24.

It also elevates Nicole, whose eligibility for Scotland was confirmed last year via her Scottish mother (from Dunfermline) to fifth on the Scottish all-time list for women’s outdoor 200m.


Kayleigh Haggo at Meadowmill last summer (photo by Bobby Gavin)

Kayleigh World Record is ratified

Scottish Para athlete Kayleigh Haggo is in the hunt for a top award.

The RaceRunner global medallist has been short-listed in the Young Scot Awards for 2021 in the Sport category.

Kayleigh, 22, of course set a world best mark last summer during our 4J Studios Open Series at Meadowmill when she recorded 37:75 for the 200m.

Congratulations to the Red Star AC athlete and her family and coach for the nomination.

The Young Scot Awards will be celebrated with a virtual awards ceremony next month.


Max Milarvie wins the 10k race at the Great Scottish Run in 2019 (photo by Bobby Gavin)

International Relay Full Results

Scottish athlete Max Milarvie topped the leaderboard in the International Virtual Club Relay organised by England Athletics.

Edinburgh Uni Hare and Hounds were our representatives in the virtual event which featured teams of four men and four women each running a five-mile route.

Max clocked 24:07 for his five mile run and that was clear at the top of the overall leaderboard by more than 20 seconds.

Edinburgh Uni Hare and Hounds were also represented by George Rudman, Callum Tharme and Gregor Malcolm on the men’s side and the women’s quartet of Constance Nankivell, Alice Goodall, Holly Page and Ella Revitt.

English club Wirral AC won the club team race from North Belfast and Liswerry Runners from Wales, with Edinburgh Uni in fourth.



Tags: Kayleigh Haggo, Max Milarvie, Nicole Yeargin

Expand Social Feeds