Oates and Millar lead XC Grand Prix

Saturday 16th February 2019

CCGP2018-19 R4

Lachlan Oates has won the Scottish Cross Country Grand Prix title for the past two seasons – and he’s out in front again this year as his bids for a hat-trick.

There are two events remaining now in the six-race series with the Lindsays National XC looming at Falkirk on Saturday (February 23) before the final fixture at the Inter-Counties XC at Loughborough in March.

Victory in the West Districts and the Inter-Districts has propelled Shettleston runner Oates to the top of the men’s points table currently.

Lachlan now has 166 points with Andy Douglas of Inverclyde his nearest challenger on 139 and Alastair Hay of Central AC in third on 94. Making up the men’s top five at the moment are Ryan Thomson of Cambuslang and Adam Craig of Inverclyde AC.

There’s £4000 in total up for grabs split equally between the men’s and the women’s divisions and we’ve been delighted to reward a number of athletes in recent years for their consistency.

Morag Millar won the 2016-17 Women’s title and second place at the Inter-District has helped the Central AC athlete lead the table currently on 172 points.

Inter-District champion Mhairi Maclennan of Edinburgh Uni Hare and Hounds is second on 100 points with Springburn’s Michelle Sandison third on 93.

Making up the women’s top five at the moment are Jo Williams of Lothian RC and Elspeth Curran of Kilbarchan AAC.


Photo by Bobby Gavin

As is always the case for scottishathletics events, we are indebted to volunteers helping us make them happen.

That’s certainly the scenario for a huge undertaking like the Lindsays National XC at Callendar Park and we’re pleased Alex Jackson has had a good response to an appeal for race marshals to help out on Saturday 23 February.

Falkirk Victoria Harriers of course are involved as the host club, setting up the races in advance of the 11am start on Saturday and we are also grateful to our scottishathletics endurance Officials as well as the Road Running and Cross Country Commission folk.

The following clubs have offered at least one volunteer representative to help as marshals: Bellahouston H, Calderglen H, Cambuslang H, Carnegie H, East Kilbride AAC, Edinburgh AC, Edinburgh University H & H, Garioch Road Runners, Garscube H, Giffnock North AC, Inverclyde AC, Irvine AC, Kinross Road Runners, Lasswade AAC, Linlithgow AAC, Lothian RC, Moorfoot Runners, Motherwell AC, Penicuik H, Perth Strathtay H, Perth Road Runners, Shettleston H, Springburn H, Strathearn H, West End Runners, Westerlands CCC.

There are also volunteer helpers via Falkirk Community Trust and a group of Police Scotland Youth Volunteers from Alloa.

We appreciate all the help – so thanks in advance . . .


Tags: Falkirk, Lachlan Oates, Morag Millar, Scottish Cross Country GP

Expand Social Feeds