Youngsters clinch medals and places for London – via Greenock

Monday 18th March 2024

Photos by Neil Renton

Greenock Results 

The Clyde coast at Greenock has traditionally been a venue for ‘launching’ down the decades – centuries, even – and so it was for some of our best teenage athletes on Sunday.

No fewer than 16 ran their way into London Mini Marathon selection at our popular Young Athletes Road Races.

Battery Park was the launchpad as the top four in each of the two U15 and U17 races made sure they will represent Scotland on the big day in London next month.

Scottish Championships medals were to be savoured, too, with podium places chased both by individuals and teams.

Kilbarchan AAC duo Amy Teasdale and Oliver Patton made the short trip to Inverclyde and headed home clutching gold after fine wins at U17 level.

There was a third individual gold for Kilbarchan as Alistair Street won the U15 boys race just ahead of Angus Wilkinson of East Kilbride.

In the U15 Girls race, the black and yellow vest of Falkirk Victoria Harriers headed the field with a win for Corri McGougan.

Law and District AAC athlete Alexander Wotherspoon won the U13 Boys race and our U13 Girls champion was Fearne Jarrett of Dundee Hawkhill Harriers.

Finish line footage from each race on YouTube

Photos by Neil Renton on our Facebook page

Our U17 podiums at Greenock were topped by Kilbarchan AAC duo, Amy Teasdale and Oliver Patton (photos by Neil Renton)

In terms of the team titles, one colour dominated this event again – as the yellow vests of Giffnock North AC swarmed the podium

Five titles out of six was the overall outcome and there were even bronzes at U15 Boys level, with Cambuslang Harriers winners of the golds in that race.

Here are our Young Athletes Road Race medallists for 2024:

U13 Girls:

1 Fearne Jarrett (Dundee Hawkhill Harriers); 2 Emily Taylor (Aberdeen AAC); 3 Skye Robertson (Falkirk Vics)

U13 Boys:

1 Alexander Wotherspoon (Law and District); Evan Tyler (Giffnock North) 3 Rory Beattie (Harmeny AC)


U15 Girls:

1 Corri McGougan (Falkirk Vics); 2 Eilidh Dallas (Strathearn  Harriers); 3 Cerys Wright (Lasswade AAC)

U15 Girls Teams: 1 Giffnock North; 2 Harmeny AC; 3 East Kilbride AC

U15 Boys:

1 Alistair Street (Kilbarchan AAC); 2 Angus Wilkinson (East Kilbride AC); 3 Daibhidh Kinnaird (Cambuslang Harriers)


U17 Women:

1 Amy Teasdale (Kilbarchan AAC); 2 Zara Redmond (Kilbarchan AAC); 3 Caitlyn Heggie (Inverness Harriers)

U17 Women teams: 1 Giffnock North AC; 2 Fife AC; 3 Falkirk Victoria Harriers

U17 Men:

1 Oliver Patton (Kilbarchan AAC; 2 Oliver MacDonald (Giffnock North); Kieran Fulton (Moorfoot Runners)

U17 Men teams: 1 Giffnock North AC; 2 Harmeny AC; 3 Kilbarchan AAC

Tags: Greenock, Young Athletes Road Races

Expand Social Feeds