Championship Bests and double golds at our U17 Champs

Sunday 5th February 2023

Oliver Patton on his way to CBP in the U17 Men’s 1500m final (photo by Bobby Gavin)

*Please note this report is subject to checks and alterations – and the intention is to cover a few highlights (rather than every single gold medal performance).

Online Results

The highlights in the U17 Champs were a series of Championship Best performances in various events.

Oliver Patton led the way with those with a solo run for 3:56.72 in the 1500m that was close to Corey Campbell’s National Record from last year.

In fact, the silver and bronze medallists in that race were also inside the original Championship best, with strong runs from Jamie Connor of East Kilbride AC and Luke Culliton of Falkirk Victoria Harriers.

Law and District AAC athlete, Tehillah Ikechukwu Okonkwo, is a fine young sprints prospect and, not yet aged 15, claimed the U17 Champs Best performance in the 200m with a run of 24.57.

The Women’s 1500m featured a win for Millie McClelland-Brooks of Glasgow School of Sport with a CBP of 4:4.39.

Silver medallist, Eilidh Dallas of Strathearn Harriers, was also inside the previous best for this event after great running by both athletes. Eilidh’s time is a Scottish U15 Record, too! Congratulations to athlete, family, coach and Strathearn Harriers.

There were also of double gold medal performances – well done to Moorfoot Runners jumper, Louis Whyte, and Edinburgh AC sprinter, Rory Brogan.

Aberdeen AAC athlete, Finn Bryce, claimed gold in the shot and in the pole vault.

Finn Bryce savours shot put gold with fellow medallists Logan Turnbull from Cumbernauld AAC and Max Linklater of Orkney AC (photo by Bobby Gavin)


U17 Champions

Women’s Long Jump: Kaitlyn Clark (Whitemoss AAC) 5.46m

Men’s Long Jump: Louis Whyte (Moorfoot Runners) 6.55m

Women’s Triple Jump: Matilda Brockley (Annan and District AC) 11.09m

Men’s Triple Jump: Louis Whyte (Moorfoot Runners) 12.88m

Women’s High Jump: Zoe Loughery (VP-Glasgow) 1.65m)

Men’s High Jump: Callum Newton (Dunfermline) 1.90m

Women’s Shot: Leila Thomson (Gateshead) 11.40m

Men’s Shot: Finn Bryce (Aberdeen AAC) 11.31m

Women’s Pole Vault: Cara Weir (Giffnock North Ac) 2.84m

Men’s Pole Vault: Finn Bryce (Aberdeen) 3.49m

Women’s 60m: Sophie Thomas (Dunfermline) 7.84

Men’s 60m: Rory Brogan (Edinburgh AC) 7.11

Women’s 200m: Tehillah Ikechukwu Okonkwo (Law and District AAC) 24.57

Men’s 200m: Rory Brogan (Edinburgh AC) 22.40

Women’s 300m: Jaymee Brown (North Ayrshire AC) 41.62

Men’s 400m: Dylan McCulloch (Central AC) 50.69

Women’s 800m: Katie Sandilands (Fife AC) 2:13.53

Men’s 800m: Fraser Lupton (Team East Lothian) 1:57.16

Women’s 1500m: Millie McClelland-Brooks (Glasgow School of Sport) 4:34.39

Men’s 1500m: Oliver Patton (Kilbarchan AAC) 3:56.72

Tehillah Ikechukwu Okonkwo celebrates superb U17 200m gold at the Emirates Arena (photo by Bobby Gavin)


Tags: 4J U17 Champs, Emirates Arena

Expand Social Feeds