Tom Scott 10-Miler entries up 150 percent

Thursday 2nd April 2015

Lisa Finlay and Robert Gilroy – 2014 champions 

The Tom Scott Memorial Road Races sponsored by Hydracrat return for a 53rd edition on Sunday, with the event moving back to Strathclyde Park after a year away at Carluke.

For the fourth consecutive year, the event plays play host to the Scottish 10-Mile Championship as well as the West District and Scottish Veteran Harriers 10-Mile Championships. It should certainly ensure there will be significant battles all through the field, with several 2015 champions waiting to be crowned.

In addition to the Championships, the historic event will open the scottishathletics Grand Prix Road Race series and with five races chose to feature, this further cements the Tom Scott Road Races stature as one of the premier road races in Scotland.

Scottish Road Race Grand Prix

The Tom Scott Memorial Road Race was established in 1962 by colleagues of Tom Scott in the Motherwell steelworks and has enjoyed strong support over the years with winners of the event including famous names in Scottish distance running such as Nat Muir, Ian McCafferty and Lachie Stewart.

It has become a permanent fixture of the scottishathletics calendar among leading distance runners in Scotland and this year is no different.

The significant news from this year’s event is that the all-time entry record of 352 entries has been smashed, with 443 entering the 2015 edition.

With 380 entries received for the main 10-Mile Championship, the Tom Scott Memorial Road Races is on course to more than double the number of competitors from last year, when 150 completed the race! Indeed, entries increased by so much that race organisers had to close entries early due to the entry capacity being reached.

This year’s event promises to be another thriller. Robert Gilroy and Tewolde Menginsteab, who fought a tense battle in 2014 before Robert emerged the victor in a sprint finish, will return this year in an effort to win the title.

The two will also face stiff competition from Patryk Gierjatowicz of Hunter Bog Trotters – who has been in fine form in the recent road race events – as well as a wealth of other athletes from the 66 clubs who will be represented at the event.

The strength of the event is further emphasised by the return of David Millar, veteran champion last year of Irvine AC and Colin Feechan, winner of the V50 award Ronhill Cambuslang.

Women’s contenders could include Megan Crawford of Fife AC and Shettleston’s Jessica Oliver-Bell.  Holder Lisa Finlay has pulled out, unfortunately.

In the Round the Loch 6k event, Derek Govan will return to defend his title, as will Hilary McGrath of Law and District in the women’s race. Govan will face a challenge this year from Greg Turner of Giffnock North and Luke Foss of Law and District, with a fast race in prospect on the return to the flat Round the Loch 6k course (after the 7k race in Carluke in 2014).

The Tom Scott Memorial Road Races were delighted to secure sponsorship from Hydracrat from this year’s event.

Hydracrat are one of the UK’s premier drilling contractors and have played a big role strengthening the event this year. The Tom Scott Memorial Road Races are grateful to Hydracrat for the assistance that has been provided and Hydracrat are equally delighted to be associated with such a historic Scottish event.

With the largest ever field in the event’s 53-year history assembling on Sunday it promises to be a landmark day for athletics in Lanarkshire and on the scottishathletics calendar.

The only thing left to say to all who will be at Strathclyde Park on Sunday is: Good Luck  . . .  and let the battle commence!

With thanks to Bobby Hill for this preview




Expand Social Feeds