Scout sets new Record as Scots land silvers – plus East, West, Junior hill details

Monday 13th May 2024

Senior Home Countries International

Glas Tulaichean Uphill Only 7km 670m climb

Records tumbled at this year’s Senior Home International in Glenshee.

This year’s SHI was an uphill only event to give the GB and NI team a second opportunity to race over the uphill only format before heading to Annecy for the European Off Road Running Championships at the end of May. Several of the athletes competing are heading out to the championship.

Scout Adkin ran a brilliant race to win by over two minutes and break the 21-year-old course record (set by Angela Mudge, her coach) by 17 seconds.

Scout led from the gun and used the race as a final test before Annecy. The Scotland women took team silver with Kirsty Dickson in fifth, Naomi Lang in seventh again using the race as final preparation for her up and down event in Annecy. Catriona Graves was home in tenth.

In the men’s race, the first two finishers broke the course record held by Kris Jones at 33:28.

Kris (Dundee, running for Wales) and Joe Steward (England) battled it out on the climb with Joe breaking away on the steeper section to take the win in 31:52 and Kris in 32:34. It was a demonstration of how good competition leads to special performances.

The first Scot home was Jamie Crowe in fifth narrowly beating Robbie Simpson in sixth. Ross Gollan was eighth and Rory Abernethy in tenth completed the team to match the women’s team silver. England took gold in both events.

A big thank you is forwarded to Steve Matthew and his team for hosting the event.


East District Hill Running Championships Saturday 4 May

Last Saturday nearly 200 runners raced Stuc a’ Chroin, (22km, 1500m) which hosted the East District Championships.

In warm conditions Fergus Roberts came home to take the East District title in 2:11:05, after running 14.57 at the Sri Chimnoy 5k the previous evening. Helen Fallas won the women’s title with husband Andy taking the M40 title.

Thanks to Steve and the team at Strathyre for making it another great race.

M Sen:
1. Fergus Roberts (Ochils); 2. Alistair Thornton (Ochils); 3. Sasha Chepelin (Carnethy)

W Sen:
1. Helen Fallas (Carnethy); 2. Rosalind Heron (Carnethy); 3. Zoe Kelly & Jasmine Brown (both HBT)

1. Andrew Fallas (Carnethy); 2. Andrew Lamont (Carnethy); 3. Jonathan Turnbull (Strathearn Harriers)

1. Naomi Dijkman (Lauderdale Limpers)

1. Simon Templeton (Ochils)

1. Stewart Whitlie (Carnethy)

1. Hazel Dean (Ochils)

M Team:
1 Ochils (F. Roberts, A. Thornton, A. Graves)
2. Carnethy (S. Chepelin, C. Balogh, F. Wilson)
3. Central AC (J. Crowe, L. McComb, C. Milne)


West District Hill Running Championships Saturday 11 May

Ben Lomond 12km, 970m

Whilst the home international was taking place in the east hill runners were also competing in the west district championships on the shores of Loch Lomond.

Racing up and down the tourist route on this iconic hill. Catriona MacDonald and Ryad Chebbout were first west runners home. Gemma Griffiths was second woman home but took the U23 prize. Justin Carter managed to smash his knee on the descent but kept going to take first V50.

Thanks to Jamie and Westerlands for organising a great event.

1. Ryad Chebbout (Shettleston Harriers); 2. Robert Hamlin (Westerlands CCC); 3. Joshua Farrell  (Dumbarton AAC)

1. Catriona MacDonald (Bellahouston Road Runners); 2. Tilly Hamilton  (Shettleston Harriers); 3. Mary Wilson (Shettleston Harriers)

1.  Gemma Griffiths (Shettleston Harriers)

1. Scott Henderson (Westerlands CCC)

1.  Nicola Dawson (Westerlands CCC)

1. Justin Carter (Cambuslang Harriers)

1. Karen Patel (Westerlands CCC)


1.Daniel Reid (Westerlands CCC)


Broughton Heights Junior Hill Races and Trial Race for U18 International Youth Cup (IYC)

Broughton Junior Hill Results

With a course designed to match the length and profile of the one planned for the IYC race in Palencia and the temperature hitting the low 20s, this was a very good test for the best Scottish U18 runners aiming to represent Scotland next month in the Spanish mountains.

In the men’s race, a strong descent from Rowan Taylor of Lasswade brought him home for a comfortable win.

Garscube’s James Alexander was looking good for second place finish until a tumble on the descent opened the door for Lachlan Thomas from Ross County to claim thautomatic selection place.

James held on for third with Strathearn’s Andrew Grant claiming fourth after a strong finish to his race.

For the women, Ruth Walsh of Giffnock was the clear winner followed by Elsa McGregor from Edinburgh AC, claiming the second automatic selection spot in only her second outing in a hill race.

Astrong run from Ava Richardson of Gala brought her home in third ahead of Katie Meek from Inverness.

In the U15 race, there were wins, and maximum league points, for Anna Meek of Inverness and Jack Foley of Moorfoot Runners with Lasswade’s Lucy Ward and Gala’s Seb Darlow finishing as runners-up.

Thanks to Mark Johnston and team for a very well organised and enjoyable race.

With thanks to Angela Mudge and Phil Mestecky


Tags: hill running

Expand Social Feeds