Coach of the Year short-lists

Monday 25th September 2017

Andy Young won the Performance Coach of the Year title in 2016, presented by Neil Black of British Athletics (photo by Bobby Gavin)

Tickets for Annual Awards Dinner

scottishathletics are delighted to reveal the short-lists for three awards in the Coach of the Year categories at our Annual Awards Dinner.

The Awards Dinner is being held on the evening of Saturday 4 November at the Hilton Hotel in Glasgow – with Kelly Sotherton and Jenny Meadows as our Guests of Honour that night.

With some 150 coaches and staff having gathered at the Emirates Arena for the Coaching Conference over the past weekend, it was deemed appropriate to use that forum to announce the short-lists.

Our Coach of the Year awards are again split into three categories this year, taking in Performance, Development and

Club Coach.

Six contenders were confirmed for the coveted Performance Coach of the Year accolade with a further dozen individuals named as contenders in the two other categories.

Congratulations to all those short-listed from scottishathletics and many thanks for the countless hours you devote to your coaching in order to propel athletes to their best. We firmly look forward to recognising the huge contribution by all coaches at our Awards Dinner.

Here are the short-lists (in alphabetical order)

Performance Coach of the Year

Brian Doyle

Robert Hawkins

Liz McColgan-Nuttall

Eddie McKenna

Ian Mirfin

Andy Young

Development Coach of the Year

Roy Buchanan

Colin McCulloch

Iain McEwan

Willie Russell

Cat Tavendale

Dudley Walker

Club Coach of the Year

Frank Gauld (Aberdeen AAC)

Robert McCrum (Motherwell AC)

Kirk and Linda Smith (Lasswade AAC)

Stephen Wallace (Cumbernauld AAC)

Jim Young (Kilmarnock Harriers)

Dudley Walker of Giffnock North won the Development Coach of the Year award in 2016 with Billy Glasgow accepting the trophy on his behalf from Mike Whittingham of sportscotland

Donald Pegrum and Archie McBride of Cumbernauld AAC won the Club Coach of the Year award last year

Tags: Annual Awards Dinner 2017, Coach of the Year, Hilton Hotel Glasgow, Performance Coach of the Year

Expand Social Feeds