4J Seniors and U17 Champs set to take centre stage at Aberdeen

Thursday 11th August 2022

Key info for Aberdeen

The splendid facilities at Aberdeen Sports Village will play host to our 4J Seniors and U17 Champs this weekend.

And, after international action which stretched from Oregon to Birmingham, the time feels right for 4J Studios Scottish Championship action to be centre stage across our channels.

We’d love to see you along at the Aberdeen venue through Saturday and/or Sunday, of course, but if not then why not follow the action on our live stream by Vinco.

There’s a significant prize pot of £5000 up for grabs for Senior athletes and the event carries World Rankings points status for the first time, too.

Just as importantly in many respects are the battles to be names Scottish champion; make the podium, reach the final, post a Personal Best or get the better of club-mates, friends and rivals.

Para events are integrated into the programme and compete for the prize-pot via the same ‘gold, silver, bronze’ system for each discipline.

scottishathletics would like to thank our track and field sponsors, 4J Studios, for specific, additional support to help us cover costs for the Vinco coverage and for the prize pot.

Greg Millar will be looking to claim another Scottish title win in the javelin (photo by Bobby Gavin)

At this stage we also say a big thank you in advance to the Aberdeen Sports Village staff, all our volunteer helps and our qualified scottishathletics Officials who will all combine to deliver the event – the #SALtogether approach.

A number of our Officials have been on duty at Birmingham 2022 and helped to deliver a truly memorable the Commonwealth Games.

The Birmingham connection will continue in the competition and on entry lists we are seeing a number of Team Scotland athletes including Chris Bennett, Mark Dry, Sarah Malone, Taylah Spence, Rebecca Matheson, Jill Cherry, Ross Paterson and Alexander Thomson.

A trio of others – David Smith, Nick Percy and Kirsty Law – miss out as they are with GB and NI for the European Champs, which start in Munich on Monday morning!

Nonetheless, a quick scan through start-lists reveals entries from the likes of Ben Greenwood, Ben Potrykus, Ben MacMillan, Geg Millar, Ryan Thomson, Sean Chalmers, Annabel Simpson, Brodie Young, Billy Doyle, Krishawn Aiken, Reuben Nairne, Sara Barbour, Rachel Hunter, Bera Ajala, Murray Fotheringham Gant Plenderleith, Claire McGarvey, Philippa Millage and Megan Keith.

Don’t forget there’ll be a VincoSport livestream of the event available, so friends and supporters who can’t make it to Aberdeen will be able to watch from home.



Tags: 4J Seniors and U17s, 4J Seniors/U17s, Aberdeen, Aberdeen Sports Village

Expand Social Feeds