Erin 800m run at 1:59 (and other highlights); Edinburgh Marathon

Sunday 26th May 2024

Erin Wallace in Manchester (photo by James Rhodes)

There was track and field action across a number of locations over the weekend and some excellent performances.

Let’s start in Manchester and an Olympic qualifying time for Erin Wallace in the Women’s 800m.

Erin finished third in her race with a PB of 1:59.20 to get inside the British Athletics qualifying standard. The Giffnock North AC athlete is fifth on the Scottish all-time list for Women’s 800m.

There were a series of high place finishes in other races at the BMC meet in Manchester.

Among those to win their races were: Caleb McLeod 800m 1:50.30; Rhys Crawford 800m 1:52.95; Jamie Phillips 1500m 3:49.80; Reiss Marshall 1500m 3:47.65; Adam Brown 1500m 3:50.44; Hannah Taylor 800m 2:08.58. Quite a few Aberdeen AAC athletes in there!

Kieran Fulton of Moorfoot Runners delivered a fine 1500m run for second place in his race – with his 3:49.61 inside the GB and NI qualifying standard for the Euro U18 Champs this summer. Great to see.

Angus Wilkinson clocked 3:53.02 in the same race as the East kilbride AC athlete moved seventh on the U17 all-time list.


A few more good performances from other meets around the world:

Brodie Young with a 45.71 run over 400m to move to fifth on the all-time list for Scottish men.

Alessandro Schenini with a 7.71m (windy) long jump to win the comp at the B.I.G event in Oxford.

Guy Learmonth with 1:46.02 for 800m in Germany.

Adam Thomas with 10.33 for 100m in Germany to lead the Scottish rankings this year.

Hannah Anderson PB for 800m in Belgium with 2:08.59 and then 1500m run the following day at 4:22.23.

Ben Potrykus will big PB run over 5000m for 13:38.79 and move to No 14 on all-time list.


Photo courtesy of Edinburgh Marathon Festival

At the Edinburgh Marathon Festival there were a series of good runs across the distances in wet condions.

The Marathon title winners were:

Moray Pryde in 2:23.14 and Johanna Oregan 2:48.22.

The Half Marathon title winners were:

Sean Chalmers in 65:29 and Jenny Selman in 79:55.



Expand Social Feeds