Revealed: 4J Annual Awards short-lists ahead of our Dinner

Thursday 16th September 2021

Tickets for 4J Annual Awards

Jo Pavey is our Guest of Honour for the 4J Annual Awards Dinner next month – and we are delighted today to reveal a number of short-lists.

It is always very important for scottishathletics to recognise, acknowledge and celebrate the success and commitment of our clubs, coaches and volunteers.

That’s even more applicable give the global pandemic and the way our sport has had to respond simply to ensure that athletics in Scotland continues to happen.

So it should be a very special occasion at the Hilton Hotel in Glasgow on Saturday 9 October and tickets are now on sale at £45 per person of £340 for a table of eight (we have reduced the size of tables and the overall numbers very significantly to give plenty of room to move around).

And it will be an exciting night for those now very much in contention for the 4J Awards across a number of categories.

Many congratulations to all those short-listed and we very much look forward to welcoming you on the evening of Saturday 9 October.

Tickets on sale on Event section page

Let’s start with our clubs . . .

(All lists in alphabetical order)

Impact Club of the Year:

Aberdeen AAC, Dunfermline Track and Field, Harmeny AC

Track and Field Club of the Year:

Edinburgh AC, Pitreavie AAC

Janice Eaglesham MBE Para Development Club of the Year:

Fife AC, Forth Valley Flyers, Red Star AC

The return of National Championships has been a significant boost during 2021 – with action here from the 4J Studios Age Groups (photo by Bobby Gavin)

Our volunteer coaches make a massive contribution guiding and developing athletes across the length and breadth of Scotland . . .

Community Coach of the Year:

Nichola Crawford (Aberdeen AAC); Martin Leadbetter (Lothian Running Club); Stephen Wallace (Cumbernauld AAC)

Development Coach of the Year:

Ross Cairns (Inverness Harriers); James McMenemy (Airdrie Harriers); Willie Sharp (Falkirk Victoria Harriers)

Performance Coach of the Year:

Jamie Bowie (Team East Lothian); Steve Doig (Fife AC); Rodger Harkins; Andy Young


Our dedicated team of qualified Officials – our #purpleandredarmy – make a massive contribution to athletics in Scotland every year.

At the 4J Annual Awards that is reflected in our Technical Official of the Year award as well as the Raymond Hutchison Award for Services to Officiating (which is chosen separately).

Technical Official of the Year:

Gary and Jan Gammage; Richard O’Grady; Kevin, Carol, Rebekah and David Rose



Our Volunteer of the Year award highlights the crucial role player by key individuals and, last year and continued again in 2021, we have introduced an Innovation Award. This need not necessarily be for a club but is this year in terms of the short-list . . .

Volunteer of the Year:

Ian Gebbie (Kilmarnock Harriers); Duncan McKellar (Garscube Harriers); Fiona Pollock and Pamela Stephen (Cambuslang Harriers)

Innovation Award:

Harmeny AC, Perth Strathtay Harriers, West End Road Runners

Tickets for 4J Annual Awards


Tags: 4J Annual Awards, 4J Annual Awards Dinner, Jo Pavey

Expand Social Feeds