Top Banner
Top Banner

Winter dates and venues 2016-17

Thursday 7th July 2016

National XC video footage from 2016 event at Falkirk

The National XC will return to Falkirk in February 2017 as the highlight of the Lindsays Cross Country Season.

Callendar Park will be the venue once again for one of the biggest events of the year for the athletics community in Scotland.

We’re pleased to confirm – almost eight months in advance – that the date for the National XC for 2017 will be Saturday 25 February, as scottishathletics work in partnership the Falkirk Community Trust as well as our sponsors, Lindsays law firm.

Forward planning is always important in athletics for athletes, coaches, clubs and parents so we are also pleased to give details of the 2017 Indoor Season for Scottish Championship events following decisions and consultations by the Track and Field Commission.

Now we can confirm that the Emirates Arena in Glasgow will once again host all the Scottish Indoor Championship events from January through to March. (Note: Indoor Season dates are provisional until such time as entries open).

The National Open and the Scottish Seniors are on Saturdays in January with the Age Groups taking place over February 11/12.

Scottish Schools and SUCA (Unis and Colleges) events are also scheduled for the Emirates Arena. SAIL League match dates will be confirmed in due course.

In road running, Greenock will again stage the Young Athletes Road Races on a Saturday in March with the National 6 and 4 Stage National Relays the following weekend – on the Sunday at regular venue Livingston.

All at scottishthletics would like to thank the various commissions, host clubs and venue owners for their assistance in putting together the Winter 2016-17 Calendar.

(In the list below, National Championship events are in bold)

+++

CROSS COUNTRY

Lindsays-Logo-707x469

Saturday 8 October: North XC Relays at Evanton; West XC Relays at Kilmacolm; East XC Relays at Livingston

Saturday 22 October: National XC Relays at Cumbernauld

Saturday 5 November: Short Course Champs at Bellahouston

Saturday 3 December: North XC Champs at Inverness; East EX Champs at Aberdeen

Sunday 4 December: West XC Champs at Ayr

Saturday 7 January: Inter District XC Champs at Edinburgh

Saturday 28 January: Masters XC Champs at Dundee

Saturday 25 February: National XC Champs at Falkirk

+++

INDOOR SEASON

scottishathletics at the Emirates Arena

scottishathletics at the Emirates Arena

October 19: SUCA Freshers Meet

Tuesday 3 January: GAA Miler Meet (Scottish 3000m Champs)

Saturday 14 January: National Indoor Open

Saturday 28 January: National Indoor Senior and U17 Championships

Wednesday 1 February and Thursday 2 February: SSAA Track & Field Champs

Saturday 4 February: SUCA Indoor Championships

Sunday 5 February: Indoor SUPERteams

February 11/12: National Indoor Age Group Championships

March 4/5:  National Indoor CE, Masters and Relay Championships

+++

ROAD RUNNING

Greenock16-67187

Greenock – stages Young Athletes Road Races

Saturday 18 March: National Young Athletes Road Races at Greenock

Sunday 26 March:  National 6/4 Stage Road Relays at Livingston

 

Tags: Cumbernauld, Emirates Arena, Lindsays Cross Country Season, Livingston, National Road Relays, National XC

Expand Social Feeds