Picked for Scotland! U20 team named for event in Wales

Tuesday 15th August 2023

Scotland are headed for Wales later this month to compete in an U20 track and field international

And we are delighted today to name the team for the event in Cardiff on Saturday 26 August.

It’s the 2023 Welsh International U20 match and the venue is the Cardiff International Sports Campus.

Scotland U20s will compete against their U20 Welsh hosts, England U18s, England U20, Channel Islands, Northern Ireland U20 and Welsh Schools

Our team features a number of athletes who were competing at Grangemouth over the weekend – in both Seniors and U17s – as well as a couple of those who represented Team Scotland at the Commonwealth Youth Games in Trinidad.

Scotland Men


100m – Rory Voss (Pitreavie AAC); 200m – Dean Patterson (Glasgow School of Sport); 400m – Omar Bajo (Edinburgh AC); 800m – Jamie Phillips (Kilmarnock Harriers); 1500m – Andrew Thomson (Fife AC/Edinburgh Uni); 3000m – Finlay Ross-Davie (Garscube Harriers); 2000m Steeplechase – Oliver Patton (Kilbarchan AAC); 400m Hurdles – Ben Heron (North Ayrshire AC)


High Jump – Cameron Forbes (Edinburgh AC); Long Jump, Triple Jump – Louis Whyte (Moorfoot Runners); Discus, Shot Put – Logan Mitchell (Kilmarnock Harriers) ; Hammer – Callum Hendry (VP-Glasgow); Javelin – Scott Hopper (Kilbarchan AAC)

4×100 Relay

Voss, Paterson, Euan Cunningham (Falkirk Victoria Harriers), Rory Brogan (Edinburgh AC) 

4 x 400 Mixed Relay

Bajo, Heron, Abbi MacLeod (Falkirk Victoria Harriers), Holly Ovens (Fife AC)

Scotland Women


100m – Sophie Thomas (Dunfermline) ; 200m – Tehillah Okonkwo (Law and District AAC); 400m – Abbi MacLeod; 800m – Holly Ovens; 1500m – Hannah Ryding (Giffnock North); 3000m – Amy Teasdale (Kilbarchan AAC); 2000m Steeplechase – Ruth Walsh (Giffnock North); 400m Hurdles – Anastasia Cotorobai (Pitreavie AAC); 100m Hurdles – Maya Stewart (Worcester)


High Jump – Zoe Loughrey (VP-Glasgow); Long Jump – Darcie Black Dunfermline); Triple Jump – Matilda Brockley (Annan and District); Discus – Meghan Porterfield (VP-Glasgow); Hammer, Javelin – Dawn Russell (Kilbarchan AAC); Shot Put – Amy Kennedy (Cumbernauld AAC)

4 x 100m

Thomas, Okonkwo, Marvellous Igbinidu (Inverness Harriers), Sophie Wallwork (Dundee Hawkhill Harriers)

Many congratulations from all at scottishathletics to these young athletes and their families and coaches. We also credit and commend the clubs involved in their development over a number of years.


Tags: Cardiff, Scotland U20, Welsh U20 International

Expand Social Feeds