Scotland teams for 2016 Mini Marathon

Friday 18th March 2016

Anna MacFadyen of Forres – will lead Scotland U17 Women in London

London Mini Marathon website

Scotland will send four teams to the London Mini Marathon to compete in the British Athletics Junior road race champs on Sunday 24 April.

Selections have now been made for both U15 and U17 age groups – with teams of six athletes to compete on the same day as the London Marathon itself.

It is wonderful experience for our young athletes, with crowds lining the streets of the capital, and the races featuring very strong fields indeed as teenagers from across the length and breath of Britain compete.

This year, the National XC at Falkirk was the main selection race and the four teams are led by the four National XC champions in those age groups – Anna Macfadyen and Tristan Rees at U17 and Lewis Pentecost and Eloise Walker at U15.

We make it no fewer than 14 clubs represented by the 24 athletes selections with Giffnock North, traditionally strong for this event, having five picks and their West rivals Kilbarchan AAC having three athletes picked.

But with Forres, Banchory Stonehaven, Perth Strathtay, Inverclyde, Corstorphine and Falkirk among those represented there is a real cross-Scotland feel to the teams.

Scotland Teams for London Mini Marathon – Sunday 24 April

U17 Women: Anna Macfadyen (Forres Harriers); Lauren Dickson (Lasswade AAC); Laura Stark (Kilbarchan AAC);  Clare Stewart (Banchory Stonehaven); Kate Gallagher (Central AC); Erin Wallace (Giffnock North AAC).

U17 Men: Tristan Rees (Fife AC); Sol Sweeney (Perth Strathtay); James Donald (Dundee Hawkhill Harriers); Joe Arthur (Edinburgh AC); Max Milarvie (VP-Glasgow); Ben Greenwood (Perth Strathtay)

U15 Girls: Eloise Walker (Edinburgh AC); Lynn McKenna (Giffnock North AAC); Jessica MacLeod (Corstorphine AAC); Charlotte McKenna (Giffnock North AAC); Sarah Tait (Lasswade AAC); Heather Barnes (Giffnock North AAC)

U15 Boys: Lewis Pentecost (Falkirk Victoria Harriers); Robert Sparks (Fife AC); Hamish Armitt (Giffnock North AAC); Cameron Watson (Inverclyde AC); Michael Simson (Kilbarchan AAC); Andrew MacAngus (Kilbarchan AAC).

Congratulations from all at scottishathletics to those athletes selected, their families and coaches and those at clubs who continue to help in their development.


Check out video footage of the National XC at Falkirk with highlights of U15 and U17 races


Tags: London Mini Marathon, National XC

Expand Social Feeds