North District hill champs success

Tuesday 11th November 2014

North District Hill Champs

The inaugural scottishathletics North District Hill Championships was hosted by Highland Hill Runners at Knockfarrel.

A great turnout of 117 runners took on the 8.8km course with Gordon Lennox (Forres Harriers) winning the Men’s title in 41.37, closely followed by Graham Bee (Inverness Harriers) in 41.45 and David Wilby (Highland Hill Runners) in 41.50.

These three clubs dominated the individual prize list with only one exception – the Under 20 Men’s title – which was won by Alasdair Coupar (East Sutherland AAC) in 43.50. Alasdair came home an excellent sixth overall.

The Women’s Championship was won by Moira Davie (Forres) in 48.50, some way ahead of Caroline Marwick (Inverness) in 52.20, with Catriona Fraser (also Inverness) third in 54.22min.

The Men’s Masters Championship was won by  Paul Miller (Inverness) in 44.11, and the Women’s by Hilary Cameron (Forres) in 52.28.

The team titles were closely fought, with a single point separating 1st and 2nd in the Men’s race.  Forres Harriers came out on top in both the Men’s and Women’s teams with Highland Hill Runners taking second in both cases.

Inverness Harriers secured third Men’s team and North Highland Harriers the third Women’s team.

Sophie Dunnett (Championship Organiser)

Gordon Lennox

Robbie Paterson

North Hill Champs

North Hill Champs: the fight for second place

Tags: East Sutherland AAC, Forres Harriers, Gordon Lennox, Highland Hill Runners, hill running, Inverness Harriers, Moira Davie, North Highland Harriers

Expand Social Feeds