Lindsays East XC District Relays round-up from races at Gala

Monday 3rd October 2022

The Senior Women’s top three teams at Gala (photo by Adrian Stott)

Provisional Results (on right of Event page)

Central AC men and the women of Edinburgh Uni Hare and Hounds turned yellow and green into gold at Gala on Saturday.

The East District XC Relays marked the start of the Lindsays Cross Country Season and it didn’t disappoint.

And if there is definitely a sense of déjà vu around those Senior race winners then there was excitement for Falkirk Victoria Harriers in the age group races – with victories in both.

That’s a reflection on hard work at development level by Falkirk Vics and well done to their athletes, coaches and parents on the success.

The course at Mossilee Farm carries a reputation as one of the toughest around the Scottish cross country circuit and many who raced on Saturday would not disagree after taking on the hills in the Borders.

In the Senior Men’s race, Central AC took it from Corstorphine AAC and Edinburgh Uni Hare and Hounds.

The Central AC winning team for 2022 featured: Calum Phillip, Ben MacMillan, Cameron Milne and Hamish Hickey. Hamish’s 13:20 was the fastest lap.

In the Senior Women’s race, Edinburgh Uni Hare and Hounds from Edinburgh AC with the podium very much a capital affair as the EU students B team took the bronzes.

That EU A winning team for 2022 featured: Sarah Calvert, Constance Nankivell and Alice Goodall. Sarah’s 15:37 was the fastest lap.

The Senior Men’s top three teams at Gala (photo by Adrian Stott)

The Young Males race saw Falkirk Victoria Harriers top the podium from Edinburgh AC and Harmeny AC.

That Falkirk Victoria Harriers winning team for 2022 featured: Josh Taylor, Roy Taylor and Luke Culliton.

As it happened, there were two sets of brothers on the podium with the Taylors for Falkirk joined by Fergus and Finlay Ross at Harmeny.

The Young Females also saw the black and yellow of Falkirk lead the way with the golds ahead of Team East Lothian and third-placed Edinburgh AC.

That Falkirk Victoria Harriers winning team for 2022 featured: Emily Christie, Isabella Ogg and Caitlyn Christie.

The Masters medals 1-2-3 were as follows: Men’s: Gala, Corstorphine AAC, PH Racing. Women’s: Gala, Hunters Bog Trotters, Edinburgh AC.

Big thank you to our East clubs for supporting the Lindsays District XC Relays and to host club Gala Harriers are well as the Road Running and Cross Country Commission and all volunteers.

The top three teams in the Young Females and Young Males races celebrate medal success at Gala (photos by Adrian Stott)

Tags: East District XC Relays, Gala, Lindsays Cross Country Season

Expand Social Feeds