Go Scotland! Teams prepare for Mini Marathon

Friday 22nd April 2016

Representing Scotland in London – U17 Men Ben Greenwood, Joe Arthur and Sol Sweeney (photo by Bobby Gavin)

London Mini Marathon website

Teenage Scots are preparing for an exciting weekend – as they get ready to race at the London Mini Marathon on Sunday.

The list of former winners of this event includes the likes of Mo Farah and Derek Hawkins and Scotland will field teams at U17 and U15 level, with six athletes in each team.

It is wonderful experience for our young athletes, with crowds lining the streets of the capital, and the races featuring very strong fields indeed as teenagers from across the length and breadth of Britain compete in what amounts to the British Athletics Age Group Road Champs.

This year, the National XC at Falkirk was the main selection race and our four teams are led by the four National XC champions in those age groups – Anna Macfadyen and Tristan Rees at U17 and Lewis Pentecost and Eloise Walker at U15.

Without making any assumptions, the Scotland U17 Men’s team looks particularly strong this year given the East District medalled at the Inter-Counties XC in Birmingham with five of the London team involved.

We make it no fewer than 14 clubs who will be represented by the 24 athletes racing in Lodnon with the likes of Forres, Banchory Stonehaven, Perth Strathtay, Inverclyde, Corstorphine and Falkirk among those as well five from Giffnock North and three from Kilbarchan AAC.

Congratulations from all at scottishathletics to those athletes selected, their families and coaches and those at clubs who continue to help in their development. We hope this weekend proves an experience which helps inspire these teenager athletes to continue to work hard to make progress to success at Senior level.


Scotland Teams for London Mini Marathon – Sunday 24 April

U17 Women: Anna Macfadyen (Forres Harriers); Lauren Dickson (Lasswade AAC); Laura Stark (Kilbarchan AAC);  Clare Stewart (Banchory Stonehaven); Kate Gallagher (Central AC); Erin Wallace (Giffnock North AAC).

U17 Men: Tristan Rees (Fife AC); Sol Sweeney (Perth Strathtay); James Donald (Dundee Hawkhill Harriers); Joe Arthur (Edinburgh AC); Max Milarvie (VP-Glasgow); Ben Greenwood (Perth Strathtay)

U15 Girls: Eloise Walker (Edinburgh AC); Lynn McKenna (Giffnock North AAC); Jessica MacLeod (Corstorphine AAC); Charlotte McKenna (Giffnock North AAC); Sarah Tait (Lasswade AAC); Heather Barnes (Giffnock North AAC)

U15 Boys: Lewis Pentecost (Falkirk Victoria Harriers); Robert Sparks (Fife AC); Hamish Armitt (Giffnock North AAC); Cameron Watson (Inverclyde AC); Michael Simson (Kilbarchan AAC); Andrew MacAngus (Kilbarchan AAC).

*Scottish Para athletes are in action in the Mini Marathon event, too. Flying the flag will be Kyle Brotherton, Luke Deighan and Callum Sloan in the boys races.  Murran Mackay competes in the girls event at the younger age group.

FalkirkXC 16-13199

Representing Scotland in London – U15 Boys Hamish Armitt, Lewis Pentecost, Robert Sparks


Expand Social Feeds