Club and Volunteer of the Year short-lists

Wednesday 27th September 2017

Edinburgh AC won the Track and Field Club of the Year award last year with Derek Rae and Jamie McDonald of scottishathletics making the presentation (photo by Bobby Gavin)

Tickets for Annual Awards Dinner £40 per person

scottishathletics are delighted to reveal the short-lists for three awards in the Club of the Year categories at our Annual Awards Dinner.

And we are ready to salute our Volunteer of the Year on that occasion, too, with   stalwarts of the sport in Scotland in the running for the 2017 accolade.

The Awards Dinner is being held on the evening of Saturday 4 November at the Hilton Hotel in Glasgow – with Kelly Sotherton and Jenny Meadows as our Guests of Honour that night.

Six clubs from various parts of Scotland are listed for the coveted Impact Club of the Year award which was won last year by Shetland AAC, following great work by that island club.

Three more from our three major cities vie for the Track and Field Club of the Year and then a further four are named as the contenders for Off Track Club of the Year to make it 13 clubs in all featuring on the three short-lists.

Hugh Rankin of Kilmarnock Harriers won the Volunteer of the Year award back in 2016 and this time the short-list features four key individuals who each make a huge contribution to their clubs in particular and our sport in general.

Impact Club of the Year:

Cumbernauld AAC

Falkirk Victoria Harriers

Harmeny AC

Inverness Harriers AAC

North Ayrshire AC

Springburn Harriers

Track and Field Club of the Year

Aberdeen AAC

Edinburgh AC


Off-Track Club of the Year

Cambuslang Harriers

Central AC

Giffnock North AAC

Kilbarchan AAC

Volunteer of the Year

Alastair Dalgleish (Livingston AC)

Mark Davidson (Aberdeen AAC)

Brian Nisbet (Edinburgh AC)

Craig Stewart (Harmeny AC)

Hugh Rankin of Kilmarnock Harriers received his Volunteer of the Year award last year from Mark Munro of scottishathletics 

Shetland AAC received their Impact Club of the Year Award last year with CTO Paul Woods pictured with Derek Hawkins and Julie Mollison of scottishathletics

Central AC won the Off Track Club of the Year title with Michael Wright receiving the award from Beth Potter 

Tags: Annual Awards Dinner, Club of the Year, Glasgow Hilton Hotel, Volunteer of the Year

Expand Social Feeds