Seven Scots named on Futures Programme by British Athletics

Tuesday 16th November 2021

Kane Elliott (photo by Bobby Gavin)

British Athletics Futures Academy website announcement

Seven Scottish athletes have been named by British Athletics on their Olympic and Paralympic Futures Academy Programme for 2021/22, which is supported by Nike.

The Programme is a key step in the pathway to support athlete and coach development with the aim to progress to become a successful Senior athlete, and transition onto the World Class Programme (WCP) in the next cycle.

Endurance duo Erin Wallace and Kane Elliott are on the Olympic Futures programme and the five Para Scots are Steven Bryce, Kirsty Soutar, Steven Stone, Alexander Thomson and Mel Woods

All at scottishathletics send our warm congratulations to these athletes and their coaches and families as well as the clubs involved in their development.

Giffnock North AC athlete Erin, who is coached by Andy Young, is on Year Three while Falkirk Victoria Harriers athlete Kane, who is coached by Willie Sharp, is on Year One. Erin won bronze in the 1500m at the Euro U23 Champs in Tallinn last summer.

On the Para side of things, five Scots are listed:

Steven Bryce (Allan Bryce, Victoria Park City of Glasgow) [Year 1]

Kirsty Soutar (John Owens, Red Star) [Year 2]

Steven Stone (Laurence Bissett, Forth Valley Flyers) [Year 2]

Alexander Thomson (Chris Baillie, Victoria Park City of Glasgow) [Year 2]

Melanie Woods (Rodger Harkins, Red Star) [Year 2]*

*On the Paralympic World Class Programme but will have access to educational support from the Paralympic Futures

Academy Programme.


Mel Woods at the Paralympics with GB (photo by imagecomms)

SportsAid Scotland have announced their five Merit Award winners for 2021 – and there’s good news for wheelchair racer Mel Woods.

The Paralympian was named with four others from SportsAid’s list of supported athletes and will now receive additional backing.

Two trophy winners will be selected from the five at a special presentation event in Edinburgh in December

The Merit Award winners are: Jaimie Cook (Fencing), Louise Duncan (Golf), Iona Moir (Cycling), Rachel Sugden (Badminton) and Mel Woods (Wheelchair Athletics).


Tags: Alexander Thomson, British Athletics Futures Programme, Erin Wallace, Kane Elliott, Kirsty Soutar, Mel Woods, SportsAid Scotland, Steven Bryce, Steven Stone

Expand Social Feeds