Minutes of Annual General Meeting of Scottish Athletics Limited held via Zoom on Saturday 30th September 2023

The Meeting commenced at 1000 hours.

Present:

Mandated Delegates List

Ron Morrison, Fife AC John Mackay, Shettleston Harriers Hugh Buchanan, Central AC Yvonne Jones, Edinburgh AC Jason Pender, Kilbarchan AAC Tracy Hendry, Falkirk Victoria Harriers Jason Miles-Campbell, Strathearn Harriers Gerry Gaffney, Inverclyde AC Des Dickson, Cambuslang Harriers Leslie Roy, Scottish National Athletics League Leslie Roy, Victoria Park City of Glasgow Christine Stevenson, Pitreavie AAC Keith Kong, Lasswade AC Stuart Irvine, Garscube Harriers Laura Gebbie, Red Star AC Neil Short, George Heriots School XC Club Alison Lessells, Calderglen Harriers Dianne Chisholm, Inverness Harriers Sarah Duff, Heriot Watt University Athletics Club Pratiksha Peram, North Highland Harriers Darren Murphy, Helensburgh AAC Richard Leyton, Bellahouston Road Runners Damian McAuley, Springburn Harriers Brian Wilson, Airdrie Harriers Stephen Wallace, Cumbernauld AAC Chris Peggie, Corstorphine AAC Juliane Friedrich, Penicuik Harriers Amy Mollison, Dundee Hawkhill Harriers Andrew Ronald, Forth Valley League Mike Howard, Musselburgh & District AC Dawn Cruickshank, Elgin AAC Sharon Taylor, Dunbartonshire AAA

Non-Mandated Delegates List

Alistair Aitchison Michael Johnston Margaret Brown John Rodger

Sandra Hardacre

Helen Fallas

Dawn Allan

Jamie McDonald

Lindsay McMahon

Francesca Snitjer

David Fallon

Erin Gillen

Colin Hutchison

Peter Jardine

David Ovens

Barbara Knox, Springburn Harriers

Amanda Bryden, Kilmarnock Harriers

Valerie Murdoch

Jill O'Neil

Nick Stone, Nairn AAAC

Terry O'Hare

Robin Thomas, Hunter's Bog Trotters

Diane Ramsay

Angus Gallie, Linlithgow AC

Marika Kennedy, Cumbernauld AAC

Jim White, Motherwell AC

Scott Mason, Bellahouston Harriers

Drew Gibson, Glasgow Frontrunners

Mark Davidson, Aberdeen AAC

1 Welcome, Introduction and Opening Remarks

David Ovens (DO), Chair, welcomed everyone to the meeting.

The Chairman introduced the top table:

Professor Ron Morrison (RM), President, Colin Hutchison (CH), Chief Executive Officer and Dawn Allan (DA), Head of Operations.

DO asked RM to begin the proceedings.

Votes in the Room

At the commencement of the meeting there was a total of 32 mandated delegates and 3 proxies in the room. There was a total of 167 eligible votes in the room, including 15 proxy votes.

The Chair explained the protocol of the meeting and the voting procedures, confirming Jamie McDonald and David Fallon would act as tellers, non-mandated delegates, if required.

2 Apologies

Alison Lunn (via email)

Rt Hon Lord Campbell of Pittenweem (via email)

Bob Greenoak (via email)

Brian McAusland (via email)

Sheila Smart (via email)

Ian Beattie (via email)

Lesley McNicol, Law & District (via email)

David Lothian, FVH (via email)

RAM League (via email, Andy Dobbie)

Scottish Schools' Athletics Association (via email, Margaret McInally)

Suzanne Beattie, Musselburgh and District AC (via email)

Run GMC (via email, Clem Clement)

North Ayrshire AC (via email, Morag McMillan)

Edinburgh Running Network (via email, Rachael Sinclair)

Carnethy Hill Racing Club (via email, Eoin Lennon)

Lochaber Athletics Club (via email)

Dunfermline T&F Club (via email, John Penman).

3 Minutes of Annual General Meeting held on 1st October 2022

Proposed: Board

Seconded: Garscube Harriers

The minutes of the Annual General Meeting 2022 were approved as a true and accurate account of the meeting.

4 To Receive and Adopt the Annual Report for 2022/23

CH was invited to speak on the Annual Report. The slides are attached.

CH invited any questions. The following questions were asked by delegates:

Des Dickson, Cambuslang Harriers wished to note his thanks to CH and the **scottish**athletics staff team for their support to the clubs in what has been a challenging year.

Proposed: Board

Seconded: Corstorphine AAC

Annual Report adopted.

5 To Receive and Adopt the Annual Accounts and Auditors Report for 2022/23

The Chair invited DA to speak on the Annual Accounts and Auditors Report.

DA invited any questions.

With no questions received:

Proposed: Board

Seconded: Corstorphine AAC

Annual Accounts and Auditors Report adopted.

6 To Appoint the Auditors for 2023/24

It was proposed that Henderson Loggie LLP be re-appointed auditors to **scottish**athletics for the ensuing year.

Proposed: Board Seconded: Red Star AC

Henderson Loggie LLP re-appointed as Auditors

7 To decide annual membership fees for 2024/25

The Chair invited CH to speak on the membership fees proposals.

CH invited any questions. With no questions received:

7 (a) Senior Club Membership £23.00

Proposed: Board

Seconded: Pitreavie AAC

7 (b) U21 Club Member £13.00

Proposed: Board

Seconded: Corstorphine AAC

7 (c) U13 Club Member £10.00

Proposed: Board

Seconded: Helensburgh AAC

7 (d) Coach Member £26.00 (for three years)

Proposed: Board Seconded: Red Star AC

7 (e) Family Member £56.00

Proposed: Board

Seconded: Garscube Harriers

7 (f) Senior Member Unattached £49.00

Proposed: Board

Seconded: Garscube Harriers

7 (g) Over 65 Member £15.00

Proposed: Board

Seconded: Corstorphine AAC

7 (h) Corporate Member £53.00

Proposed: Board

Seconded: Pitreavie AAC

Membership fees adopted.

8 To consider nominations for Honorary Life Membership

8 (a) Andy Law

Proposed: Board

Seconded: Forth Valley League

With a 2/3 majority required, this proposal was taken to a vote.

Votes for: 162 Votes against: 0 Votes abstained: 5

8 (b) Elaine Park

Proposed: Board Seconded: Central AC

With a 2/3 majority required, this proposal was taken to a vote.

Votes for: 157 Votes against: 0 Votes abstained: 10

8 (c) Joyce Rammell

Proposed: Board Seconded: Red Star AC

With a 2/3 majority required, this proposal was taken to a vote.

Votes for: 157 Votes against: 0 Votes abstained: 10

9 To Elect Office Bearers

Track and Field Commission

9 (a) Convenor Diane Ramsay

Proposed: Victoria Park City of Glasgow

Seconded: Shettleston Harriers

9 (b) Secretary Lesley Thirkell

Proposed: Fife AC Seconded: Red Star AC

Road and Cross-Country Commission

9 (c) Convenor Michael Johnston

Proposed: Cambuslang Harriers Seconded: Shettleston Harriers

9 (d) Secretary Julia McAfee

Proposed: Helensburgh AAC Seconded: Corstorphine AAC

Hill running Commission

9 (e) Convenor Helen Fallas

Proposed: Carnethy Hill Racing Club

Seconded: Central AC

9 (f) Secretary Stephen Winter

Proposed: Shettleston Harriers

Seconded: Red Star AC

9 (g) Finance Officer Andrew Douglas

Proposed: Inverclyde AC Seconded: Central AC

Officials Commission

9 (h) Convenor Alistair Aitchison

Proposed: Edinburgh AC Seconded: Garscube

9 (i) Secretary Brian Brown

Proposed: Elgin AAC Seconded: Central AC

9 (j) President John Rodger

Proposed: Kilbarchan AAC Seconded: Inverclyde AC

Office Bearers approved.

10 Re-election of Board member appointed by the Board

Terry O'Hare

Proposed: Board

Seconded: Corstorphine AAC

Re-election of Terry O'Hare approved.

11 AOCB

DO invited any other questions.

DO thanked Ron Morrison, Leslie Roy MBE, Hugh Buchanan and Margaret Brown who are stepping down as Board members of Scottish Athletics.

DO thanked everyone for attending the meeting and with no further business the meeting closed at 11:40 hours.

Appendix to 2023 Minutes

Recognition of those who passed away between October 2022 to September 2023

Joan Watt
Joyce Hogg
Sandy Gunn
Les Piggot
Colin Watson
Adrian Weatherhead
Ian Tasker (Sprinter / North official)
Ann Webber
Ian Clifton
Hugh Mitchell
Ian Cunningham (Edinburgh Southern H/Edinburgh AC treasurer)
Hugh Murray (international triple jumper, not the coach)
Andre Reibig (ultra runner)
David Stein (Springburn Harriers treasurer)

Scottish Athletics Limited, Caledonia House, South Gyle, Edinburgh, EH12 9DQ

w. www.scottishathletics.org.uk

Registered Company SC217377 VAT reg no 596971174