UKA Programmes

The final tier in the performance pathway is managed by British Athletics.

Funded by The National Lottery through UK Sport, British Athletics World Class Programme selection is based upon the potential to win medals at an Olympic or Paralympic Games and is split into two levels: Podium (for athletes with the potential to win medals at Tokyo 2020) and Podium Potential (for athletes developing towards Tokyo 2020 and the Olympics in 2024).

Further information on this programme, including a full list of supported athletes and selection policies, can be found via the following link:

World Class Programme

Selection Policies


2017/ 2018 Scottish athletes


Olympic Podium

Callum Hawkins (Robert Hawkins)

Laura Muir (Andy Young)

Lynsey Sharp (Terence Mahon)


Paralympic Podium

Jo Butterfield (Phil Peat/Shona Malcolm)

Libby Clegg [guide Chris Clarke] (Joe McDonnell)

Sammi Kinghorn (Ian Mirfin)

Maria Lyle (Jamie Bowie)

Stef Reid (Aston Moore)


Olympic Podium Potential

Chris Bennett (Mick Jones)

Andrew Butchart (Terence Mahon)

Eilish McColgan (Liz McColgan Nuttall)

Jake Wightman (Geoff Wightman)


Paralympic Podium Potential

Derek Rae (Ron Morrison)


Relay Squads

Womens 4x400m

Zoey Clark (Eddie McKenna)

Eilidh Doyle (Brian Doyle)


Expand Social Feeds